Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member mloo55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    142
    Points
    2

    Default Unable to use IE6

    It is a pc with win98se PIII, 256k and now I am unable to use internet and all what I got is: Page not found. i called to telefonica and asked where could be the problem and he told me that the operative system had problems after following some steps he indicated: run--command- enter
    then I wrote ipconfig and had the info they requiered as the IP address. Then I wrote Ping and the response was file not found.
    According to it what can I do to fix the problem.
    rgds
    mloo55

  2. #2
    Member Help2Go Moderator Mich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    2,131
    Points
    495

    Default

    hi mloo.

    How is the computer connected to the internet? a dialup modem, a router, a cable modem, an adsl modem?

    If you're using a router, can other computers reach the internet from it?
    Have I helped you? Please consider making a donation to keep Help2Go running and ad-free

    To do is to be - Socrates; To be is to do - Plato; Do be do be do - Sinatra; Scooby Dooby Do - Scooby; Yabba Dabba Do - Flintstone

  3. #3
    Member mloo55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    142
    Points
    2

    Default

    It has adsl connection and the light adsl/act in the modem is on all the time. really I dont know exactly what other thing to do.
    rgds
    mloo55

  4. #4
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    Have you tried resetting the modem .. if there is no reset button, unplug it from the power for about 30 seconds and then plug it back in.


  5. #5
    Member Help2Go Moderator Mich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    2,131
    Points
    495

    Default

    You will need to connect through the modem to the internet mloo. Do you have anywhere now on your computer where you type in a user name and password to connect to the internet?
    Have I helped you? Please consider making a donation to keep Help2Go running and ad-free

    To do is to be - Socrates; To be is to do - Plato; Do be do be do - Sinatra; Scooby Dooby Do - Scooby; Yabba Dabba Do - Flintstone

  6. #6
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,151
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Hi mloo,

    You may need to reload your account details into the modem/router. Can you give us the make and model? All have different default user names and passwords, so the model info would help point you in the right direction. Alternatively, I'm sure your ISP would have supplied a CD-rom to enable you to set up the connection. If so, try running it again.

  7. #7
    Member mloo55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    142
    Points
    2

    Default

    Just I called again to the internet provider and of course with another person who help me to solve the problem due the configuration was changed for some reason. Now I am writing from this pc.
    thanks for yr help
    mloo55

  8. #8
    Member Bear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,839
    Points
    372

    Thumbs up

    Thanks for letting us know your problem was solved and how it was resolved. This may help another member in the future.
    Comptia A+ and Network + Certified. Microsoft MCP in Windows 2000 Pro. Server, Advanced Server and Data Center Sever.

  9. #9
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,151
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mloo55 View Post
    ... the configuration was changed for some reason.
    Good to hear you are back online again. Your router configuration won't change on its own, so be sure to run adequate anti-malware software. This recent thread may be of interest.

    Good luck.