Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    111
    Points
    0

    Default Dont know if this is spyware

    Everytime I go to certain websites, Directv to name one, the following always pops up



    Visual Studio in time Debugger an unhandle win32 excerption(sp)


    You are force to hit yes or no to debug which in turn closes all pages. I did a search on here but couldnt find anything on it. Can anyone help????? Thanks

  2. #2
    Member Spyware Fighter Clark76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    1,359
    Points
    239

    Default

    This does not appear to be a spyware issue. For now I am going to move this over to the Computer Help forum where some of the techs over there can give you some suggestions.
    Proud Member of ASAP
    Proud Member of UNITE

    Do not ask for my help via pm. Keep it in the forums so all may learn from it.

    My help here is always free but it does cost money to keep the site running. If you feel we've helped you, Please Donate to the Forum

  3. #3
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    By any chance are you running Windows Live Toolbar? If so, uninstall it and see if the message goes away. Keep us posted.


  4. #4
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,151
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    You need to give us the full error message. We need to know what follows.

    An unhandled win32 exception occurred in ......

    The bit that's missing will pinpoint the file causing the problem.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    111
    Points
    0

    Default

    Here what it says


    Visual Studio Just-In-Time Debugger


    Possible Debuggers
    New Instance of Visual Studio 2005


    Do you want to debug using selected debugger?

    yes No


    lmk, and thank you I appericate it

  6. #6
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,151
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    OK, it sounds like you have script debugging activated on your computer.

    Open Internet Explorer, select Tools, then Internet Options. Click on the Advanced tab and scroll down to Browsing. Make sure that both of these options are selected...

    Disable Script Debugging (Internet Explorer)
    Disable Script Debugging (Other)


    If necessary, deselect Display a notification about every script error

    Hope that helps.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    111
    Points
    0

    Default

    did that no luck. hmm, this is a real brain teaser. any other suggestions would be appericated.



    thanks, jrp

  8. #8
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,151
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Earlier in this thread Canuck asked...
    are you running Windows Live Toolbar? If so, uninstall it and see if the message goes away.
    Did you do that?

    Now try each of the following in this order....

    1. Go to Control Panel, Add or Remove Programs, and look for Visual Studio. If it's present, uninstall it.

    2. The default script debugging program in Windows is called Dr Watson. That option is currently turned off and debugging is being handled by Visual Studio.

    To re-enable Dr Watson, click on Start, Run, type in cmd and click on OK. You'll now see the Command Prompt window. At the cursor, type or cut and paste the following...

    drwtsn32 -i then press Enter. Close the window and see if that makes a difference.

    3. If you still get a problem, go to the registry, (see here for instructions)find the following keys and delete them both.

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\.NETFramework\DbgManagedDebugger

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AeDebug\Debugger


    ...and make sure you back up the registry before doing anything!

    Let us know how it goes.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    111
    Points
    0

    Default

    Hi, thanks for helping and heres the update


    I removed Microsoft Visual and it was still doing the same thing. I went to step 2 and enter the DR Watson debugger and it took the Visual message away; however, now instead of that message, I get Internet explorer must close do you want to send a error message. I did not do the 4th step with, I want to wait to hear what you think.


    I dont think I have a Microsoft toolbar. Where would I look for this. All I have in the top left is a google search option, followed by bookmarks, pop up blocker, abc check, Autolink, Send to. Thats whats in my toolbar.

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,151
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    What version of Internet Explorer are you using?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast