Question Hack My Own Computer

Okay, I'm in a pickle. I'm a college graduate with a computer that used to be on the school network. It's mine, but in order to use it while I was in school, I had to give up my admin rights if I wanted it on the network. Now that I've graduated, I want to get back my full superadmin privledges. Any idea how I can do this without wiping the entire system? That's not really an option for me as I have many files that I need to keep intact.

Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar

Can't understand why your college wanted Admin rights, but the bottom line for us is that we aren't in a position to advise on getting around password protection. This is for the protection of all, there's no point in passwords if you tell people how to get around them. We don't know if the computer has been stolen, or if someone is attempting to access information that they're not supposed to.

In your case, I suggest you back up all your files (if they're this important, you should have this done anyway) and then reformat your hard drive with your backup or operating disks.

If you have other questions, we'd be more than happy to assist you. If you're determined to get around the password, there maybe a chance that a google search would help.

Wink Two Things

One, if it were stolen, I probably wouldn't have an admin account. Especially as they can only be created by the superadmin.

As to why my school wanted an admin account, is that I'm in the military. They do that stuff.

Two, if you don't want to help me for reasons of 3rd party's using the info inappropriately, this should help. Any other users willing to help should contact:

(edit out address) canuck
    Last edited by Canuck; 08-13-2008 at 06:57 PM.

Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar