Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    1
    Points
    0

    Default Restoring Windows XP from i386 folder

    My sons hard drive crashed and everything was lost. However, I had made a backup of the i386 folder. Can I use this backup to restore his Windows XP to a new hard drive?

  2. #2
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,151
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    In short, no. You need to use the installation disk/partition.

  3. #3
    Member MrDarn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South East Northumberland
    Posts
    2,949
    Points
    557

    Default

    i have heard a similer thing about initiating a reinstall from the i386 folder, but i'm nearly sure it needs to be still part of a working windows to work, i'll look into it whilst you await replies...
    Always remember you're unique.


    ...Just like everyone else!
    If your problem is solved, here's how to say thanks!

    Windows XP
    Windows Vista
    Windows 7

  4. #4
    Member Help2Go Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA USA
    Posts
    2,994
    Points
    931

    Default

    I think Arraknid's answer "In short, no" is best. It can be done but would take a lot more effort than I think necessary especially when you can purchase the recovery discs from the manufacturer or 3rd parties for sometimes less than $40.00 USD.

    If you would like to go the long route, you can burn the i386 folder to a cd. Make a bootable windows cd from a site like bootcd.com. Boot from the bootable cd with CDROM support. After it boots poot in your i386 CD and then from within the folder run winnt and then follow the prompts.

    -Partie

  5. #5
    Member MrDarn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South East Northumberland
    Posts
    2,949
    Points
    557

    Default

    Ok, i asked the question for you, and i'm told this:

    if you have a complete folder, including the 'cab' files, you can initiate a new setup from either the 'setup.exe' 'winnt.exe' or 'winnt32.exe' located in that folder.

    if you have nothing else to lose, it is worth a try! let me know how you get on!
    Always remember you're unique.


    ...Just like everyone else!
    If your problem is solved, here's how to say thanks!

    Windows XP
    Windows Vista
    Windows 7

  6. #6
    Member MrDarn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South East Northumberland
    Posts
    2,949
    Points
    557

    Default

    sorry partie, seems we were typing at the same time!
    Always remember you're unique.


    ...Just like everyone else!
    If your problem is solved, here's how to say thanks!

    Windows XP
    Windows Vista
    Windows 7

  7. #7
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,151
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    The success rate is spasmodic. I reckon I've had about a 30% success rate with that method, and as Partie says, why bother?