Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    12
    Points
    0

    Default How to auto-hide Microweb system tray icon

    My friend has used Mircroweb as the web server emulator to run an application using browser in CD/USB device.

    But we cannot change the Microweb icon appears at the system tray to the application icon we developed.

    If that is the case, how to auto-hide this Microweb icon once my application is running then?

    Hope someone could help.

  2. #2
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    If Mircroweb is appearing in the system tray (the one next to the time) it means that it's set to be loaded on startup. If you don't want it starting at statup you can download Ccleaner and install it. Start Ccleaner > click on Tools in the lefthand column > Startup > select the program and Disable. You will have to reboot for the change to take effect.

    If I've read your question wrong, let us know.


  3. #3
    Member tallin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    855
    Points
    166

    Default

    I read your query differently, suggest you may like to check this way:
    • Right click a free area of taskbar
    • Properties
    • enable 'Hide inactive icons'
    • Customize
    • Find the appropriate icon
    • Right Click on it and set to your liking in dropdown menu
    • Apply and OK


    Let us know if this helped also.

    kind regards,
    Last edited by tallin; 03-28-2009 at 12:11 PM.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    12
    Points
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Canuck View Post
    If Mircroweb is appearing in the system tray (the one next to the time) it means that it's set to be loaded on startup. If you don't want it starting at statup you can download Ccleaner and install it. Start Ccleaner > click on Tools in the lefthand column > Startup > select the program and Disable. You will have to reboot for the change to take effect.

    If I've read your question wrong, let us know.

    Thanks Canuck for your prompt reply.

    My problem is the application is running from external media (USB device) and is not installed in user's PC. How can i make my application does the work of auto-hide the Microweb icon?

    Is there any plug-ins or anything to add so that it will disable or hide the Microweb icon instead of asking user to change PC settings manually?

  5. #5
    Member MrDarn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South East Northumberland
    Posts
    2,949
    Points
    557

    Default

    I'm somewhat confused as to the intentions...

    are you asking how to change the default system tray icon when the program is running on a pc? or are you wanting the program to run without a system tray icon?

    Either way, why exactly would you want to do this?

    The only reasons i can think of at this moment in time are:

    • To copy the icon of a legitimate program, to avoid detection
    • To change the icon of a program, so it is not detected
    • To make the icon invisible, so it avoids detection



    Is their another reason?

    I apologise if i sound suspicious, but frankly, i am!

  6. #6
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,151
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Hi Zeecay,

    I'm assuming you have written an application and you're running it within the Microweb shell. I also assume that, rather than the user seeing the Microweb icon, you want them to see your own icon. Is that right?

    If so, the problem with most applications is they integrate the icon within the .exe file, and so it isn't possible to change it without using specialist software. That will cost, but there is a program that offers 3 free changes before you need to pay. Called IconChanger, you can download the trial from here.

    Hope that helps.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    12
    Points
    0

    Default

    Hi Arraknid,

    You understand perfectly well about my problem.
    I will try out your suggestion.

    Your help is greatly apprecaited.

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    12
    Points
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MrDarn View Post
    I'm somewhat confused as to the intentions...

    are you asking how to change the default system tray icon when the program is running on a pc? or are you wanting the program to run without a system tray icon?

    Either way, why exactly would you want to do this?

    The only reasons i can think of at this moment in time are:

    • To copy the icon of a legitimate program, to avoid detection
    • To change the icon of a program, so it is not detected
    • To make the icon invisible, so it avoids detection



    Is their another reason?

    I apologise if i sound suspicious, but frankly, i am!

    Hi McDarn,

    My intention is very simple: just wanted to display our own icon in our application's exe file and not Microweb icon.

    Microweb is used because our application needed it in order to execute in external media. Otherwise we would not having problem.

    FYI, we did register to use Microweb software.

    Anyway, thanks.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    12
    Points
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tallin View Post
    I read your query differently, suggest you may like to check this way:
    • Right click a free area of taskbar
    • Properties
    • enable 'Hide inactive icons'
    • Customize
    • Find the appropriate icon
    • Right Click on it and set to your liking in dropdown menu
    • Apply and OK


    Let us know if this helped also.

    kind regards,
    Hi Tallin,

    My problem is to make the change during the application development process, not from the user's PC. Thanks for your help.

    Regards

  10. #10
    Member MrDarn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South East Northumberland
    Posts
    2,949
    Points
    557

    Default

    I appologise for my suspicious nature, i hope you don't hold it against me!


    Good luck in resolving this issue.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast