Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    84
    Points
    0

    Default reboot loop - boot disk error

    cleaned computer today with canned air; setting back up, powered up ok but when I adjusted a positionable fan it caused shut down. (the fan was operating but did find it wasn't plugged in completely)
    Anyway, now I just have a looping reboot - comes to a blue screen with some text but gone too quickly to read. Safemode doesn't work either. Windows Diagnotic (I think that was what it was called) indicated a boot disk error.

    I afraid my main HDD bit the dust (seagate) because when I make the second (maxtor) the master I can get it to boot. Just to the wrong OS and files - aaargh.

    is a boot disk error correctable?
    how can I find out if the seagate is toast?
    if it is, is there any way to get my files off it?

    I'm desperate for a fix. Thanks for anything you can offer.

    btw, Media Center & XP Home

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    84
    Points
    0

    Default

    i don't have a startup disk, nor an A: drive

  3. #3
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    Go here SeaTools and use Seagate's diagnostics utility.


  4. #4
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,158
    Points
    1301

    Default

    I can't answer all the questions others may, as far as recovering windows files a Linux live boot cd is often recommend see link and stand by for other input.

    Why you want a Linux Live CD | Defensive Computing - CNET News

    See if I can get a better link but it pretty much covers the main Idea.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    84
    Points
    0

    Default

    Thanks - I'll start with these suggestions. I read the Linux CD (well ... skimmed) but seems I'll need an A: drive for any boot disk to work! I guess I could nab one from an older computer ....... but is there any way around it??? Tx

  6. #6
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,158
    Points
    1301

    Default

    No you burn an ISO file to cd... Google it

    Here is a link also about knoppix http://www.shockfamily.net/cedric/knoppix/

    zep
    Last edited by zep516; 03-22-2009 at 06:41 PM.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    84
    Points
    0

    Default

    got it - that's great. DLing now.
    thanks!

  8. #8
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,158
    Points
    1301

    Default

    Burn it slow speed...

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    84
    Points
    0

    Default

    update: I reinstalled the seagate as slave which prompted a scandisk upon reboot and it is running endlessly with the following: "replacing invalid security ID w/default security ID for file # ...,... " into the hundred thousands now. Just let it go?

    prior to that I downloaded and tried to install the seatools utility, install failed - requires NET 2.0 (or similar); downloaded seatools DOS also ... try that?

    having difficulty with wifi connect and download for Knoppix interrupted, so slow going; also have isorecorder installed & ready to go

    anything else while all this waiting?
    Tx

  10. #10
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,158
    Points
    1301

    Default

    No just good luck.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast