Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3
    Points
    0

    Default password protect delete browsing history

    Is there a way that i can require a password be enterd before someone can delete the browsing in internet explorer under internet options?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    3
    Points
    0

    Default

    oops,,i neglected to put the word history after browsing in the second line

  3. #3
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,318
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Which OS & IE version?

    How to Password Protect Internet Explorer
    (this should work in IE6,7 & 8)
    Open up Internet Explorer
    Click Tools
    Click Internet Options
    Click on the tab Content
    Underneath 'Content Advisor', Click Enable
    Then click on the tab General
    Under 'Supervisor Password click Create
    Make you password then click Ok.
    Then Apply and finally Ok
    Last edited by abseh1; 05-15-2009 at 03:50 PM. Reason: added text
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  4. #4
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,154
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    I'm assuming you want to stop someone covering their tracks?

    If so, there is a way, but you need XP Pro. First allocate the user a Limited account.

    Click on Start, Run and type in gpedit.msc and click OK.
    In the Group Policy window, under User Configuration open the following..
    [- ] Administrator Templates
    [-] Windows Component
    [+] NetMeeting
    [+] Internet Explorer
    Select Turn off Delete Browsing History and then on Properties.

    Set to Enabled and Apply and close everything down.

    That will show the Delete browser history as greyed out.

    The Limited account will not allow re-enabling the functionality. If you retain an Admin account, you can.

    I should add that this is also possible in Vista, but depending on the version, may need some tweaking!
    Last edited by arraknid; 06-03-2009 at 09:35 AM.