Question understanding Vista

Hi
    My grandson needed money and instead of accepting a loan.........he sold me his laptop.

I never did like laptops because of the mouse thing; but my main problem is Vista. I use windows xp on my desktop and I guess I'm just so used to it that I'm really uncomfortable with Vista.

On my desktop I do a START - RUN process and just type in where I want to go. The laptop has START and then I'm lost.....

So I have computer tips in a folder on my desktop and decided to email them to me on my laptop. When I tried to save them thru notepad...I couldn't find notepad. I finally did find it after I got frustraited.....

Anyway, I can't find microsoft word at all... I'm thinking it doesn't exits on Vista.

SO HERE'S MY QUESTION....

Is there a place where I can go to learn Vista for a complete beginner???

OR should I hang up laptops altogether?

ALSO. Where can I find Microsoft Word on this thing????

Sorry for taking so much time explaining.....Hope you can lead me in the right direction.

Alyce

Hi alsprink!
    I have Vista Home Premium. Try clicking on your start menu. If you don't see Welcome Center in the list, type it into the search bar. See what you get.
    I also found some excellent tutorials when I googled "tutorials for Windows Vista Home Premium'". Let me know what you come up with please, for I am learning,too!

HAVE A GREAT DAY!
    Donna
    If you think you might be infected with malware or have recently cleansed your computer of malware without the help of an expert, please read and follow the instructions in How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer. This can alleviate time consumed in trouble shooting your current computer problems.

If your problem is solved, here's how to say thanks!

Very proud parent of a U.S. Navy "CB"

"People may forget what you say,
    People may forget what you did,
    but People will never forget how you made them feel!"