Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    KENTUCKY
    Posts
    8
    Points
    0

    Exclamation acer aspire 3100 booting issue

    will not load get a System BIOS Version:v2.73
    bus:06 Device:02 Function:00
    Error
    Resource conflict-PCI in slot 03
    bus:06 Device:04, Function 00
    Error
    Resource conflict-PCI in slot 03
    bus:06 Device:04 , function:01
    Error
    Resource conflict-PCI in slot 03
    bus:06 Device:04 , function: 02
    Error
    Resource conflict-PCI in slot 03
    bus:06 Device:04 , function:03

    Its trying too load both windows vista and windows xp tryed restore and still will not work can someone tell me how to wipe out the hard drive so i can reload the windows.

  2. #2
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,154
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Hi Jerry,

    Welcome to Help2Go. Nice to see you worked out how to post.

    Just reinstalling Windows will automatically reformat the hard drive. When given the option, choose Full format NTFS rather than Quick format NTFS.

    Have you updated from XP to Vista recently, or was it a dual boot system?

    EDIT>>>>> If you are trying to upgrade to Vista from XP, you'll need to update the system BIOS. Details here.
    Last edited by arraknid; 07-13-2009 at 02:48 PM.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    KENTUCKY
    Posts
    8
    Points
    0

    Default

    its a 3100 series aspire acer laptop computer model no is BL51 it came with vista installed on it its trying to load xp but freezes up get the following error message:resource conflict-PCI in slot 03
    bus:06, Device:04,Function:00 next line is same but the function is 01also next is function 02 and function03 would like to know how i can wipe out the hard drive to load windows xp because its the only windows disk I have tryed to use recovery disk from acer but it will not load all the windows files. have the windows product Key for vista but no disk.
    Last edited by jerrypannell; 07-13-2009 at 11:40 PM.

  4. #4
    Member MrDarn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South East Northumberland
    Posts
    2,955
    Points
    557

    Default

    In Arraknids absence, i'll ask a few essential questions:


    1. What are you trying to achieve here?
      1. A new XP install
      2. A new Vista instal
      3. A Dual Boot install
      4. An upgrade from XP to Vista using an upgrade disk

    2. What disks do you have available?
    3. What is this? a PC or a Laptop?
    4. What Make and Model Number is the computer?
    5. What exactly have you tried so far?



    Thanks, and i'm sure Arraknid will be along soon
    Always remember you're unique.


    ...Just like everyone else!
    If your problem is solved, here's how to say thanks!

    Windows XP
    Windows Vista
    Windows 7

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    KENTUCKY
    Posts
    8
    Points
    0

    Default

    its a 3100 series aspire acer laptop computer model no is BL51 it came with vista installed on it its trying to load xp but freezes up get the following error message:resource conflict-PCI in slot 03
    bus:06, Device:04,Function:00 next line is same but the function is 01also next is function 02 and function03 would like to know how i can wipe out the hard drive to load windows xp because its the only windows disk I have tryed to use recovery disk from acer but it will not load all the windows files. have the windows product Key for vista but no disk.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  6. #6
    Member MrDarn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South East Northumberland
    Posts
    2,955
    Points
    557

    Default

    Simply inserting the windows disk should wipe the drive for you, unless you either do not have a full version windows disk (it may be a recovery disk) or you do not have the boot order set to boot from the cd drive first.

    Normally with Acer you press F2 to open the BIOS settings when you first try and boot the PC. Use the 'right arrow' onn the keyboard to select the 'boot' section, and use the 'up and down' keys to select your cd rom or dvd rom device.

    Then using the key on the right,press the appropriate key to make the CD your primary (or first) boot device.

    BIOS screens can be different, on the one i have to hand, F6 is used to move the entry up. yours may be different.

    Once you have this set, select the apropriate key to 'save changes and exit'

    Insert your Windows CD into the drive and attempt to boot.

    WARNING:You will only have drivers for Vista available on any disks you have, and Windows XP comes with the bare minimum to get you started. The fact this laptop came with Vista may
    A, void your warrenty if you load XP and
    B,Not work at all, simply because the necessary drivers are not available for your hardware.

    That is a risk you will just have to take, if you decide to.

    Should you want to restore the vista OS (which you have a valid key for) we may be able to help with this.

    Let it be known that i do not recommend putting XP on this laptop, as it sounds like you will not have a valid product key for it, and will not be able to get the updated necessary to run it.
    Always remember you're unique.


    ...Just like everyone else!
    If your problem is solved, here's how to say thanks!

    Windows XP
    Windows Vista
    Windows 7

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    KENTUCKY
    Posts
    8
    Points
    0

    Default

    I would like to load what came with it but how can i without the disk can i copy vista from the internet with product key?

  8. #8
    Member MrDarn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South East Northumberland
    Posts
    2,955
    Points
    557

    Default

    You say F10 does not boot to the recovery section.

    you *can* download a copy of the recovery program in .iso form, burn it to a cd and set it to boot.
    As long as the recovery section is not too corrupted, it *may* reinstall from there.

    It all depends what is actually left on the drive that can be read.

    another option is to buy a copy of the recovery disk for your PC, which are generally cheep.
    Always remember you're unique.


    ...Just like everyone else!
    If your problem is solved, here's how to say thanks!

    Windows XP
    Windows Vista
    Windows 7

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    KENTUCKY
    Posts
    8
    Points
    0

    Default

    get error in pci slot 3

  10. #10
    Member MrDarn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South East Northumberland
    Posts
    2,955
    Points
    557

    Default

    Unfortunatly it sounds like you have a hardware issue that re-installing windows will not help.

    you can test this theory by downloading a linux live cd, and booting from that.

    If you get the same error, then nothing you do with the harddrive will change that, as its a hardware issue.

    heresA tutorial (click here) for making and using a live cd.

    Try that and come back with the results.

    How old is the laptop? is the warrenty still in date?
    Always remember you're unique.


    ...Just like everyone else!
    If your problem is solved, here's how to say thanks!

    Windows XP
    Windows Vista
    Windows 7

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast