Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Need help installing AVG free 9.0

When trying to install AVG free 9.0 build 686 (10-13-09) on 2 different computers I get a message saying that Zone Alarm is potentially incompatible software and recommending uninstalling it. The Zone Alarm is Version 8.0.298.000 (free version) and is the only firewall I use so I don't want to uninstall it unless I can find something to replace it. Have others run across this problem? Are there any solutions? Thanks for any help you can give me.

Hi,

Putts

Yes I have seen complaints with AVG 9.0 and other firewalls too namely Comodo. Would you consider a different free Anti Virus? Such as Avast.

zep516

Optimism is the faith that leads to achievement. Nothing can be done without hope and confidence.

Hi zep516:

Thanks for your reply. Although I have been using AVG for several years, I've read a number of comments referring to it as "crapware" and saying it has become "bloated." So, yes, I would be interested in a different Anti Virus. I run XP SP2. Would you give me a recommendation for a free Avast product??
    Thanks again for your help.

Putts,

Here is Avast free home addition----->FREE antivirus software with spyware protection: avast! Home Edition

Only Install 1 Anti Virus program, and 1 Firewall program.

Please let us know how it goes.

zep516.

Optimism is the faith that leads to achievement. Nothing can be done without hope and confidence.

Hi Zep 516: