Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Member sailor86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Fort Worth suburb
    Posts
    748
    Points
    1

    Default problem with downloading photos

    I plug in the camera like I always do, go to rename and I get this:

    If you change a file name extension, the file may become
    unusable. Are you sure you want to change it?

    I've never seen that before. Do I need to reconfigure something?

  2. #2
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    What's probably happening is that in renaming you are deleting the extension. eg sailorpicture should be sailorpicture.jpeg. .jpeg or jpg or other extensions depending on the format they are saved in (from your camera it most probably is one of the two) so without the extension, when you try to open the picture the PC doesn't know what program to open it with. Hope this helps.


  3. #3
    Member sailor86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Fort Worth suburb
    Posts
    748
    Points
    1

    Default wat, there's more

    The format has not changed. It is still .JPG. But I've got another wrinkle. When I go to batch delete or move photos, I automatically get copies. Is there some way I can scan My Pictures to see if there's a bug?

  4. #4
    Member Spyware Fighter DonnaB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Illiana, Ill. USA
    Posts
    3,524
    Points
    563

    Default

    sailor,
    Your anti-virus may have the right click option to scan the pictures folder itself. If I'm not mistaken, you have Avast installed! Correct? If not, please correct me on this assumption.
    If you think you might be infected with malware or have recently cleansed your computer of malware without the help of an expert, please read and follow the instructions in How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer. This can alleviate time consumed in trouble shooting your current computer problems.

    If your problem is solved, here's how to say thanks!

    Very proud parent of a U.S. Navy "CB"



    "People may forget what you say,
    People may forget what you did,
    but People will never forget how you made them feel!"

  5. #5
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,151
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    When I go to batch delete or move photos, I automatically get copies.
    When you have your files selected and you right click to select from the menu, even a slight movement will create a copy in the same folder. You are effectively dragging and dropping the files. It's all about control.

  6. #6
    Member sailor86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Fort Worth suburb
    Posts
    748
    Points
    1

    Default Right you are!

    Who da thunk it? Right on the money. Now I know.

  7. #7
    Member sailor86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Fort Worth suburb
    Posts
    748
    Points
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Canuck View Post
    What's probably happening is that in renaming you are deleting the extension. eg sailorpicture should be sailorpicture.jpeg. .jpeg or jpg or other extensions depending on the format they are saved in (from your camera it most probably is one of the two) so without the extension, when you try to open the picture the PC doesn't know what program to open it with. Hope this helps.
    I see the remedy and I'm using it, but was my pc somehow setup to auto "sign" .jpg on its own? Because I never had to do it manually before.

  8. #8
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    Yes, the PC will automatically read the file, and depending on whether you have the 'show extensions' option turned on you will see it plainly, if the option is turned off, you'll be able to see the extension by right clicking the file > Properties > and the info on the file will pop up.
    Last edited by Canuck; 01-02-2010 at 05:37 PM.


  9. #9
    Member sailor86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Fort Worth suburb
    Posts
    748
    Points
    1

    Default choose picture

    I more often than not choose to customize my cover pic on my folders. This works fine except eventually I end up getting a collage. What causes this to happen?

  10. #10
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    Right click on folder > Properties > Customize tab > Choose Picture > Highlight the picture you want > Open > OK should do it.


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast