Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    51
    Points
    0

    Default Cannot access router UI thru browser

    Here's the deelio..... I was going to check the DHCP Clients Table in my UI of my Linksys WRT54G2 router...so I typed in 192.168.1.1 as I always have in the past.....and nothing happened (Firefox Browser)....so I tried it in IE.. got Diagnose connection problems. ....funny thing is I was connected and browsing the internet just fine. So I ping 192.168.1.1 and pings were successful.......Ipconfig shows the gate way correctly as 192.168.1.1. my entire network seems fine....I just cannot access the UI of the router. I have changed nothing in the way of adding devices etc etc......I am kinda stumped as to why I all of the sudden cannot access the UI.
    I have IP camera's and every bit of my LAN is accesible ....just cannot access UI.
    Last edited by Jim624; 04-04-2010 at 09:21 PM.

  2. #2
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Try
    192.168.1.2 or 192.168.2.1

    if neither work reset the router...there is a small pin hole in the back of the router that a pen or pencil will fit...it will restore to factory settings

    Last option is call Linksys or check the Linksys site they have great video tutorials
    Last edited by abseh1; 04-04-2010 at 09:29 PM.
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    51
    Points
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by abseh1 View Post
    Try
    192.168.1.2
    LOL already tried that....and right on up the numerical scale !!! no go

  4. #4
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default


    • Press the Reset button at the back of the router for 30 seconds.

    NOTE: This procedure will reset your router to factory defaults. Any settings on the router will be erased. The router’s IP address will be “192.168.1.1” and the username and password will be “admin” after resetting.
    new window will prompt for a User name and Password, type “admin”
    (this is the default user name and password), then click OK.


    • To configure the router with DSL ISP, click here.
    • To configure the router with Cable ISP, click here.
    Last edited by abseh1; 04-04-2010 at 09:48 PM.
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  5. #5
    Member Help2Go Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA USA
    Posts
    2,994
    Points
    931

    Default

    If you haven't already reset the router please disconnect the cat5 cable from the modem to the router. Restart the computer and try again. I've seen it where linksys cable modems have set their internal IP address as 192.168.1.1 as well and then the network somehow gets confused as to which device to open the UI page for, the router or the modem.
    Last edited by PartieHonteuse; 01-19-2012 at 03:17 PM. Reason: I didn't read.