Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
  1. #1
    Member WpgMikos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
    Posts
    103
    Points
    0

    Default Need to get info off old PC, and onto Laptop

    I have a pretty old PC that I used years ago, which had my old emails and some other files that I wanted to transfer to my laptop. Unfortunately while I was away I was told that the power source went. Now I tried it yesterday and it appeared to be working although unfortunately the monitor was dead so I don't know if the computer will boot properly.

    I know that I can remove the hard drive and purchase a case but it's a small (less than 40gb), old hard drive and hardly worth the expense. (was told around $80 retail for a enclosure).

    I would like to be able to plug the PC hard drive into the Laptop and transfer the info and am not sure what the best course of action would be. I read that I could plug it into my router and take the information off the hub, although I have no clue how to make that work.

    I understand that the hard drive requires a power source, but isn't there a way that, assuming it boots properly with the current power source, that I could plug it in directly to the laptop and transfer the information in that manner?

    If not, any suggestions as to my best course of action in transferring the information is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Member Spyware Fighter DonnaB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Illiana, Ill. USA
    Posts
    3,523
    Points
    563

    Default

    Hi WpgMikos,

    Welcome to Help2Go!

    Even if you go through the transfer via router, you may need a montior to guide you through the Network & Sharing to transfer. Same with USB Flash Drive, you will need a Monitor. Can you borrow a Monitor from someone?

    You may want to look on EBay for a used enclosure for a much cheaper price. (Just a thought, though.)

    Could you provide the OS for both machines?

    I understand that the hard drive requires a power source, but isn't there a way that, assuming it boots properly with the current power source, that I could plug it in directly to the laptop and transfer the information in that manner?
    Please stand by for one of our experts with the older machines/OS to respond to the above query. They may have a way to work around this. I think you can use a Cat5 Crossover Cable, yet, I think you still need a Monitor to access the older computer.

    Depending on how important these files are to you, it may be easiest to find a cheap used enclosure.

    Donna
    If you think you might be infected with malware or have recently cleansed your computer of malware without the help of an expert, please read and follow the instructions in How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer. This can alleviate time consumed in trouble shooting your current computer problems.

    If your problem is solved, here's how to say thanks!

    Very proud parent of a U.S. Navy "CB"



    "People may forget what you say,
    People may forget what you did,
    but People will never forget how you made them feel!"

  3. #3
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,151
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    I don't know who quoted that figure for an enclosure, but they are way less than that. About the same as a specialist cable.

    For that age of machine you'll need a PATA/IDE type.

    Check this out... http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...390&CatId=2779

    It's the best way to go, and you'll have somewhere to keep your important files safe.
    Last edited by arraknid; 04-27-2010 at 01:48 PM.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    18
    Points
    4

    Default

    another source, and it's available, for an External Enclosure is from NewEgg, Newegg.com - BYTECC ME-747U2/BL Aluminum 3.5" USB 2.0 External Enclosure . If you are going the External route, give some thought to a Multi-Connector, that way in the future you could also connect up 2.5, 3.5 and SATA drives, Newegg.com - Rosewill RCW-608 USB2.0 Adapter For IDE/SATA Device (Include Protection case) .

  5. #5
    Member WpgMikos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
    Posts
    103
    Points
    0

    Default

    Thanks for the quick responses. Am going to look into the most cost effective of them and give it a whirl. Hopefully it will be relatively simple.

    And Donna - My laptop is an HP Pavillion dv6000 and the old desktop is an old desktop, lol. Can't remember which model. I'd have to say its between 7 and 10 years I'd guess.

  6. #6
    Member Spyware Fighter DonnaB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Illiana, Ill. USA
    Posts
    3,523
    Points
    563

    Default

    You're welcome!

    Please let us know which you decide upon and accomplish, so this thread can be referred back to when needed! I'm sure many others will encounter this dilemma!

    Good Luck!

    If you think you might be infected with malware or have recently cleansed your computer of malware without the help of an expert, please read and follow the instructions in How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer. This can alleviate time consumed in trouble shooting your current computer problems.

    If your problem is solved, here's how to say thanks!

    Very proud parent of a U.S. Navy "CB"



    "People may forget what you say,
    People may forget what you did,
    but People will never forget how you made them feel!"

  7. #7
    Member Spyware Fighter Grim322's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Glendale, Arizona
    Posts
    3,026
    Points
    718

  8. #8
    Member WpgMikos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
    Posts
    103
    Points
    0

    Default

    Will do Donna!!!

    Charlie that case looks perfect but unfortunately they want close to $40-$50 for shipping to Canada. I do go to school in the U.S. so perhaps when I'm back in the fall (if this hasn't been resolved by then) I can order it.

  9. #9
    Moderator Forum Moderator arraknid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    France
    Posts
    6,151
    Points
    1293
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    The link to Tigerdirect in my previous post shows free delivery in Canada.

    http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...007&CatId=2778
    Last edited by arraknid; 04-29-2010 at 01:18 PM.

  10. #10
    Member WpgMikos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
    Posts
    103
    Points
    0

    Default

    arraknid - it does indeed!! Thanks very much. Now I just have to figure out if the old hard drive is Sata or IDE. I'm guessing the latter because of it's age. Where would it indicate which type it is?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast