Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member Steph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    961
    Points
    60

    Default Search engine list has disappeared from FF search bar

    Has anyone else had this problem? I've just realised that the list of search engines (incl. google) have disappeared from the drop down menu in my FF search bar. I found some information on how to get them back by clicking on "Manage Search Engines" at the bottom of the drop down menu and then choosing from the list but when I do that, it doesn't list anything to choose from.

    I have no idea why they disappeared but is there another way of adding different search engines back?

    Thank you.

    Steph
    Today is the dawn of another error ...



    Intel Core i3-3240 @ 3.4GHz;
    RAM 8.0 GB;
    Windows 7 Home Prem SP1 64 bit
    Firefox; IE11

  2. #2
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Steph

    Try making the address bar smaller...it may bring the search bar in view?

    Also..look here customizing the toolbar

    Moving or removing the Search bar

    The Search bar can be moved or removed by customizing the toolbar.
    3:
    Resizing the Search bar

    You can increase or decrease the size of the Search bar, by placing the pointer to the left of the Search bar, until the pointer turns into a two-ended arrow. Click and drag the two-ended arrow to the left or right to increase or decrease the size of the Search bar.


    Included search engines

    By default, Firefox includes the following search engines, each one suited to a specific type of search:




    3:
    • Google for searching the web via Google
    • Yahoo for searching the web via Yahoo
    • Amazon.com for searching the Amazon.com retail website
    • Answers.com for searching the Answers.com online dictionary and encyclopedia
    • Creative Commons for looking for images, documents, and other media available for reproduction and other uses
    • eBay for looking up items for sale or auction at eBay
    • Wikipedia for searching the Wikipedia free online encyclopedia
    Switching search engines

    The name of the active search engine is listed in the Search bar and is identified by the small icon. In the following example, the active search engine is Google. To change the active search engine, click the down arrow next to the search engine's icon, and select a new search engine.
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  3. #3
    Member Steph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    961
    Points
    60

    Default

    Hi abseh1, thank for replying.

    The problem is not the search bar, that's the same size it's always been and is fully visible but the fact that all the default search engines have disappeared from the drop down list, (although I tried resizing just in case). From within the link you posted, the link "Back and Forward and other toolbar items are missing" looked as if it should have done the trick but unfortunately didn't - the default search engine list wasn't restored. I tried enabling the Reset toolbars and controls and Restore default search engines options individually and also both at the same time but it didn't work, they search engines are still not there.

    Any other ideas? I suppose uninstalling FF and reinstalling it might work but I'd rather not do that if there's another way - too many add-ons and customisation! (I suppose I'd also lose all my links in the Favourites bar if I uninstalled?)

    Steph
    Today is the dawn of another error ...



    Intel Core i3-3240 @ 3.4GHz;
    RAM 8.0 GB;
    Windows 7 Home Prem SP1 64 bit
    Firefox; IE11

  4. #4
    Member theseven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    132
    Points
    28

    Default

    Steph,

    Have a l look here (at the very bottom of the page):
    Unable to search or add new engines - MozillaZine Knowledge Base

    Just in case, I would rather go with rename option.

  5. #5
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Steph

    Also...found this ...it will tell you how to enter your profile too

    Corrupt extension files


    Corrupt extension configuration files can cause problems when trying to install an extension. Deleting these files will make Firefox recreate them (removing any corruption) the next time it starts. You won't lose your extensions or their settings by deleting these files.
    1. Open your profile folder:
      1. (Firefox 3.6):
        At the top of the Firefox windowOn the menu bar
        , click on the Help menu and select Troubleshooting Information.... The Troubleshooting Information tab will open.
      2. Under Application Basics, click on
        Open Containing FolderShow in Finder
        .
    2. From the menu
      at the top of the Firefox windowbar
      , select
      FileFirefox
      and then select the
      ExitQuit FirefoxQuit
      menu item.
    3. Delete the following files:
      • extensions.ini
      • extensions.cache
      • extensions.rdf
    4. Restart Firefox.
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  6. #6
    Member Steph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    961
    Points
    60

    Default

    Hi theseven thanks for replying. I followed the instructions in the link you posted but it didn't work - still no search engines.

    Then I followed abseh1's detailed instructions (thanks for posting them abseh1) - still no search engines.

    So then there was no choice but to uninstall FF and reinstall it and that did work as all the search engines were reinstated by default - uninstalling FF wasn't as bad as I thought it might be as there was an option to keep your preferences. So I have them back but I have no idea why they disappeared in the first place!

    Thanks very much to both of you for your help

    Steph
    Today is the dawn of another error ...



    Intel Core i3-3240 @ 3.4GHz;
    RAM 8.0 GB;
    Windows 7 Home Prem SP1 64 bit
    Firefox; IE11

  7. #7
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Thumbs up

    Steph

    Well done...glad all is well....computer gremlins are clever little guys....but it keeps use @ Help2go busy anyway
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer