Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    6
    Points
    0

    Default Laptop cannot connect to the internet

    I have wireless internet set up in my house. All the other laptops are connected but mine is not. It was working fine until a couple days ago when suddenly it says that no connections are available even though the other laptops are connected. Please help!

  2. #2
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    jshowny

    Welcome

    We need some more info about your computer and router

    Still....let's try a few basics

    Some laptops have a key that needs to be on to access the INTERNET
    (IE: Acer has a lite and a key that you push to auto access the INTERNET...it should be lighted...usually green is good...amber is no access)

    Since yours was working a few days ago and you have the laptop setup to access the INTERNET
    Run the malware programs in my signature below....if all goes well...then do a system restore to a time when all was well

    Check your device manager for errors and updating your wireless drivers can be a fix as well

    We will be waiting for the info on your laptop and router if you still can not access the router...abs
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    6
    Points
    0

    Default

    Thanks for your help,
    my laptop is asus. the other laptop is a samsung, which is working fine and is connected.
    the router is a D-link.

    What signature are you referring to? i don't see anything.

  4. #4
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    What is your operating system...WinXP Home?
    Let us know
    Do you have more than one Browser?

    Signature Link below;
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

    After completing the info in the first post...If you still can not log on to the INTERNET

    Try unplugging the power from the router for 30 seconds and then plug it back and give it a minute to reset...you will see the lites on your router flashing...give them a minute or so to reset
    If this does not work you may need to do the same thing to the modem too

    Or,
    Try resetting the IP address
    How do I change my IP address?
    D-Link and Netgear routers typically use 192.168.0.1.
    Scroll down to Network with Router...skip"Computer connected directly to the modem"

    You can also, call your ISP support...if your ISP can not help ask for the support phone number to your router company (D-Link) and call them
    Last edited by abseh1; 03-29-2011 at 10:17 PM.
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    6
    Points
    0

    Default

    thanks for your help, i will try your suggestions.
    i am using windows 7 home

  6. #6
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Just type cmd into search with win7...then you will see a black box with cmd next to it @ the top
    You will only need that if you get to the step of renewing the IP...I doubt you will need to go that far

    Let us know if you have a problem...I think system restore will get you going...but it is always best to clean up the malware first

    Any questions just ask...abs
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    6
    Points
    0

    Default

    Do you think it is an ISP problem? Because the other computers in the house are connected while the asus is not. That laptop says that "no connections are available"
    How am I supposed to clean up the malware using your recommendations without internet? Can i burn onto a cd and copy into the problematic laptop?
    I skipped the malware stage and did a system restore back about two weeks. The internet is still not connected and no networks are available.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    6
    Points
    0

    Default

    The laptop with the problem connecting to the internet is actually my mom's computer and the one i am replying to you from is a samsung. they are both on the same network, same isp.

  9. #9
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Yes...my bad...hard to run the programs with no connection

    What is the wireless card?

    Check the device manager for the info on the wireless card

    Uninstall the driver and reboot that will sometimes auto reinstall a driver that may have been corrupted

    Sorry for the slow reply but I have been busy

    Also, if you have a cat5 cable try connecting with the ETHERNET cable directly to the back of the router...that will give you INTERNET access and allow you to update windows...drivers and run the malware link

    Another thing go to the control panel and click on the Network and Sharing icon and click on set up a new network connection or network
    Last edited by abseh1; 04-02-2011 at 10:37 PM.
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    6
    Points
    0

    Default

    Under Network Adapters , I see:
    Atheros AR8121/AR8113/AR8114 PCI-E Ethernet Controller
    Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter
    I am guessing that the 2nd one is the wireless card?
    DO i uninstall both? and how do i reinstall it if it does not automatically do it?
    No problem at all, i am also busy running around and try to get on when i can. I appreciate all the help,
    I am pretty newb when it comes to this stuff.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast