Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 44
  1. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    143
    Points
    2

    Default

    I had to head into work, so I wasnt able to try rebooting a couple more times with the install disk in the CD/DVD drive. I'll give it a go again later today when I get home. I'm hoping that after a few reboots it loads the disk. From what I've read after googling this issue, the repair option on the install disk has worked to repair others PC's that have had this same/similar issue. I just gotta get it to boot from the CD/DVD drive!!!

    The PC is a 3GHz P4 Gateway 710X desktop.

  2. #12
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Ok have a good day @ work and keep us updated...a fix is doable...but partition errors are difficult...abs
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  3. #13
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Try this:

    To open BIOS Setup utility:
    1 Restart your computer.
    2 During the restart, press and hold the F1 key. The main menu of the
    BIOS Setup utility opens.

    http://support.gateway.com/s/Manuals...10/9524976.pdf
    See page 238

    More info;
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/927392
    You can use the Bootrec.exe tool in the Windows Recovery Environment (Windows RE) to troubleshoot and repair the following items in Windows Vista or Windows 7:
    A master boot record (MBR)
    A boot sector
    A Boot Configuration Data (BCD) store
    Last edited by abseh1; 07-28-2011 at 01:54 PM.
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  4. #14
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,188
    Points
    1308

    Default

    To zep516...feel free to jump in I did not mean to hijack this thread....abs
    No problem! I was short of time for google searching and was going to ask for assistance from you in the beginning.

  5. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    143
    Points
    2

    Default

    Ok, I booted the PC & held down F1 and the gateway splash screen stayed up for a few seconds and then went away and it looks like it's trying to load the BIOS setup. There is a black and white screen up showning the processor info, ram type and that a keyboard and mouse was detected. At the bottom it shows "entering setup" and Hit F12 to boot from the network.

    Should I hit F12??

  6. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    143
    Points
    2

    Default

    I did hit F12 and now at the bottom of the screen it says "entering setup..." But it dosent seem like anything else is happening, the hard drive light isnt flashing and its just sitting there on that screen.

  7. #17
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    No need to boot from network (f12)
    You need to change the boot order
    Is this a work computer on a network?

    If not

    Change the boot order to boot from CR Rom first...then save and exit
    (scroll to boot order with the arrow keys)

    Scroll to the right and change the boot order to CD rom then save and exit
    Restart with the Win7 DVD and hit any key to continue....it should start an install of Win7...no problem ...just let it go to the repair panel

    You may be lucky and do a repair or system restore but with the partition changes that you made ...it may need to be needing a clean install and reformat

    Then save and exit

    The Win7 DVD should boot to repair options...unfortunately you have made changes to the partition

    However...you can try to do a repair
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to abseh1 For This Useful Post:


  9. #18
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    http://mike.bigtampabay.com/images/Untitled.jpg

    Click the link above for image
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to abseh1 For This Useful Post:


  11. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cleveland, OH
    Posts
    143
    Points
    2

    Default

    Nope, it's my home PC. It's wired to the internet, but I do have a wireless router for my home laptop. Not sure it that matters.

    The screen that comes up only gives me the option to boot from the network. I dont have a screen like the one on pg.238 of the Gateway manual. It kinda looks like the BIOS setup never loads?? I tried to attach a screenshot from my phone, but I'm having issues with that here on this older laptop.

  12. #20
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Try the Win7 DVD again and keep tapping the space bar as it boots see if Win7 DVD will load

    If not;

    You can remove the cmos battery for 30 minutes or more

    Do you know how to jump the motherboard?
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast