Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member reddogleader's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Irby. Merseyside, UK
    Posts
    426
    Points
    15
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Adobe Flash Player

    I like to watch Youtube regularly. I am using Windows 7 with IE9 (32 bit). I have installed Adobe Flash Player 11 at least 10 times using the official Adobe uninstaller each time before reinstalling. Why then do I get messages with some videos telling me that I need a plug in. The message is flashed up briefly before I get a message saying that the video is unavailable. Most videos work fine but I keep being directed to download Adobe Flash Player again. It seems that Adobe FP and Google Chrome are in some sort of conspracy. Is there a flash player that I can use as an alternative and is it compatible with my needs?
    A little help is worth a ton of sympathy.

    Dell Inspiron
    Windows 10
    Edge

  2. #2
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,185
    Points
    1308

    Default

    Enabling Flash Player in Internet Explorer 9

    Adobe Forums: Enabling Flash Player in Internet Explorer 9

    See if anything there above helps you, worth a look.

    Joe

  3. #3
    Member reddogleader's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Irby. Merseyside, UK
    Posts
    426
    Points
    15
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Thanks Joe. I checked on the link and it reinstalled Adobe FP, forced me to close IE and then stopped responding. Ever had the feeling of deja vu?
    RDL
    A little help is worth a ton of sympathy.

    Dell Inspiron
    Windows 10
    Edge

  4. #4
    Member Digerati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    894
    Points
    264

    Default

    One of the problems is IE (rightfully so) does not like to be modified by another program while IE is running. Thus the need to shut down IE. I would recommend you uninstall FP again using the uninstaller - making sure IE is NOT running. Then install FP again, this time making sure IE is not running. Be sure to allow the IE plug when prompted. After that, it should not continue to prompt you to install.

    Note if this happens again, it may be due to another plug in you have installed in IE conflicting with FP. So you may need to see what other plug ins (add-ons) you have.
    Last edited by Digerati; 04-27-2012 at 01:42 PM. Reason: fixed typo
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!
    MS MVP, 2007 - 2018
    ─────────────────────

  5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Digerati For This Useful Post:


  6. #5
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,185
    Points
    1308

    Default

    Thanks for the insight Digerati, appreciate it as always.

    Joe

  7. #6
    Member reddogleader's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Irby. Merseyside, UK
    Posts
    426
    Points
    15
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Thanks Digerati. I'll let you know how things go.
    A little help is worth a ton of sympathy.

    Dell Inspiron
    Windows 10
    Edge

  8. #7
    Member reddogleader's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Irby. Merseyside, UK
    Posts
    426
    Points
    15
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Thanks guys. Followed your advice and now AFP seems to be working fine. I owe you.
    A little help is worth a ton of sympathy.

    Dell Inspiron
    Windows 10
    Edge

  9. #8
    Member Digerati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    894
    Points
    264

    Default

    Glad it worked. Thanks for the followup.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!
    MS MVP, 2007 - 2018
    ─────────────────────