Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member Steph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    959
    Points
    60

    Default FF 13 - New Tab feature

    Anyone else hate this as much as I do? It looks like a sort of speed dial thingy - just stoopid because you can't just change it easily under Options>Tabs.

    So, if you want to disable this "feature" and get a new blank tab like before instead of every new tab showing every page you've browsed, I found this on the mozilla forums :

    In about:config change browser.newtab.url to about:blank and ensure browser.newtabpage.enabled is set to true

    If you don't want to disable it completely but want a blank tab, just click on the little blank boxes in the upper right hand corner of the new tab to hide your browsed pages, then click on them again and your browsed pages will be visible again.

    Steph
    Today is the dawn of another error ...



    Intel Core i3-3240 @ 3.4GHz;
    RAM 8.0 GB;
    Windows 7 Home Prem SP1 64 bit
    Firefox; IE11

  2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Steph For This Useful Post:


  3. #2
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,175
    Points
    1308

    Default

    Awesome Steph! One of the most annoying features I have seen in a while. Maybe they could have considered making it an add / on, instead of force feeding us with totally annoying things like this one.


    Great post Steph!
    Joe
    Last edited by zep516; 06-14-2012 at 03:41 PM.

  4. #3
    Member Steph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    959
    Points
    60

    Default

    Thanks Joe, I agree, it would have been better as an add-on. I nearly freaked out when I opened a new tab and saw everything I'd been browsing instead of the blank tab I expected - it was like one of those cartoon reactions - you know, eyes bouncing out on stalks and mouth wide open shouting Nooooo!
    Today is the dawn of another error ...



    Intel Core i3-3240 @ 3.4GHz;
    RAM 8.0 GB;
    Windows 7 Home Prem SP1 64 bit
    Firefox; IE11

  5. #4
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,175
    Points
    1308

    Default

    you know, eyes bouncing out on stalks and mouth wide open shouting Nooooo!
    I do know!!

    Nooooo!


    Last edited by zep516; 06-15-2012 at 03:20 PM.

  6. #5
    Member Steph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    959
    Points
    60

    Default

    Lol! That's the one
    Today is the dawn of another error ...



    Intel Core i3-3240 @ 3.4GHz;
    RAM 8.0 GB;
    Windows 7 Home Prem SP1 64 bit
    Firefox; IE11