Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    635
    Points
    4

    Default Adobe Flash Player

    I made a website and stored it on my laptop (its not been uploaded yet). When i test the video page a message says "Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player." and gives a link to download the latest version. I downloaded and installed it but i'm still getting the same message. I tried rebooting but that didn't solve the problem.
    Be alert. The world needs lerts.

  2. #2
    Member MrDarn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South East Northumberland
    Posts
    2,949
    Points
    557

    Default

    i assume you have a place to upload it.

    Make a development section on the website, to upload test pages too and see if you still have the same problem.

    mine used to be www.mrdarn.co.uk/dev/index.html (no longer live)
    which used to be great for testing new features live.

    (just create a folder named "dev" on your webspace and upload the whole test website there as normal.)

    does the error message give details of anything else, such as which player is required? or does it just say a generic "newer"?

    which operating system is this? (the earlier versions of windows may not support this newer version yet)

    which version of the flash player are you downloading?

    which web browser?
    Always remember you're unique.


    ...Just like everyone else!
    If your problem is solved, here's how to say thanks!

    Windows XP
    Windows Vista
    Windows 7

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MrDarn For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    635
    Points
    4

    Default

    I'm trying to buy a suitable domain name but all the good ones have gone. I made it in Dreamweaver so i just press F12 to test it. It just says get Adobe flash player (on their logo). I'm using windows 7 premium, Slimbrowser. I downloaded version 11.3.300.262 (9.36MB) which i assume is the latest.

    It looks ok in Opera, but i just get a white square in Firefox
    Be alert. The world needs lerts.

  5. #4
    Member MrDarn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South East Northumberland
    Posts
    2,949
    Points
    557

    Default

    well, you did the next step... "try another browser"

    the fact it works ok in opera suggests you have the compatible version installed, but it may be disabled in either firefox; slimbrowser (?) or both.

    In Firefox, hold down [Ctrl]+[Shift] and press [A]. release Ctrl and Shift. you should see the 'Add-Ons Manager' page.

    Look for Adobe Flash Player and see what its status is.

    I don't run it on my PC, but it should be there somewhere.

    check the version number there, and make sure its enabled.

    Heres a good article on Adobe Flash and firefox for you to muse over...

    Flash Plugin - Keep it up to date and troubleshoot problems | How to | Firefox Help
    Always remember you're unique.


    ...Just like everyone else!
    If your problem is solved, here's how to say thanks!

    Windows XP
    Windows Vista
    Windows 7

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to MrDarn For This Useful Post:


  7. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    635
    Points
    4

    Default

    I can't find it in Firefox. I downloaded Chrome and it works with that so it looks like Firefox is the problem. But if other people can see it i suppose it doesn't really matter.
    Be alert. The world needs lerts.

  8. #6
    Member MrDarn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South East Northumberland
    Posts
    2,949
    Points
    557

    Default

    considering the amount of people using firefox, i'd say it does!

    check here to see if it is your instalation.

    Adobe - Flash Player

    check your other plugins whilst you are busy:
    http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/plugincheck/

    obviously make sure you are using firefox to visit the link
    Always remember you're unique.


    ...Just like everyone else!
    If your problem is solved, here's how to say thanks!

    Windows XP
    Windows Vista
    Windows 7

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to MrDarn For This Useful Post:


  10. #7
    Member Digerati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    892
    Points
    264

    Default

    I would use the Adobe FlashPlayer Uninstaller to completely remove FlashPlayer from your system. Then reinstall Adobe FlashPlayer and see what happens.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!
    MS MVP, 2007 - 2018
    ─────────────────────

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Digerati For This Useful Post:


  12. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    635
    Points
    4

    Default

    I tried it in Firefox on three other computers and it works, but it still won't work on my laptop. I will try the uninstall then reinstall method you suggest but i feel better now i know other people will be able to see it. All i have to do now is find a domain name. It looks like someone has bought them all but is not actually using them.
    Be alert. The world needs lerts.

  13. #9
    Member Digerati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    892
    Points
    264

    Default

    It looks like someone has bought them all but is not actually using them.
    There are people who buy up any and all domain names they can think of that someone else might want (and will pay a lot for) in the future. A lot are retired names (the company changed names or was bought by another company, etc.) but they hang on to the domain names - some with redirects in place, some just 404 error out.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!
    MS MVP, 2007 - 2018
    ─────────────────────

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Digerati For This Useful Post:


  15. #10
    Member MrDarn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    South East Northumberland
    Posts
    2,949
    Points
    557

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Grezaldo View Post
    I tried it in Firefox on three other computers and it works,
    Good work!

    now at least you know where the problem lies, and can decide if its worth fixing.

    pleased it wasn't a problem with the website code... that just seems to get worse if you attempt to work-around!
    Always remember you're unique.


    ...Just like everyone else!
    If your problem is solved, here's how to say thanks!

    Windows XP
    Windows Vista
    Windows 7

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to MrDarn For This Useful Post:


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast