Default Installed new ram, pc won't switch on/beeping

Hi there.

I am a novice and just attempted to install new ram in my hp pc.

I had to remove the processor fan and disconnect the hard drive to access the ram slots but connected them back up once I was done. I moved the existing ram into an other slot and placed the new ram into the slot that the existing ram was in.

I have tried to switch on my pc and it will not start up, instead there is an intermittent beeping of equal length beeps and the power light is constant.

Any ideas/suggestions what I should do?

Thanks,

Chris.

Blog Entries

We will need your make and computer model

Was the CPU fan attached with what appeared to be glue like substance or is where it connects to the CPU clean

That fan must be connected back to the same power plug....it is a proprietary plug for the CPU fan only

However, the beeping is on some computers a ram failure
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

Thanks for the reply,

My computer is a HP Media centre uk.1250

The fan was stuck with what looked like white glue to the CPU.

If it is the RAM, how do you think I could corrected, it appears that I have put the RAM back in properly.

Chris

The tone of the beeps will help. they beep like morse code, long long short, or 3 short, 1 long etc to pinpoint the problem.

I know its a hastle, but i think removing the ram again is the way forward, the 2 sticks may be incompatable or not correctly fitted into the slots, or even ruined due to static electricity!

If you don't want to try a removal, let us know the beep code.
    Always remember you're unique.

...Just like everyone else!
    If your problem is solved, here's how to say thanks!

Windows XP
    Windows Vista
    Windows 7

The fan was stuck with what looked like white glue to the CPU.