Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    24
    Points
    0

    Default Dell Optiplex GX280 will not boot

    Two days ago I updated RAM from 1GB (4x256MB) to 4GB (4x1gb). Everything was working fine. Today, I changed the DVD player . Connected a SATA drive with a SATA to PATA adapter to an EIDE slot. When I turned on PC, nothing. The power button is a light shade of sold amber. I removed the new drive and returned to the old one. Still nothing. Any ideas? OS is Windows XP, SP3.

  2. #2
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    You can try f8 and last known good config or pick safe mode and try a system restore from safe mode
    ===========================================
    Below is a Dell option and when and how to use the option
    Documentation
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  3. #3
    Member Digerati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    894
    Points
    264

    Default

    I would look around inside to make sure you did not knock any power or data cables loose while changing out your RAM. Also, I hope you unplugged the computer from the wall and took the necessary ESD precautions of discharging the static in your body (by touching the bare metal of the case interior) BEFORE coming in close or touching the RAM modules.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!
    MS MVP, 2007 - 2018
    ─────────────────────

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    24
    Points
    0

    Default

    Yes, I took ESD precautions. Also, the PC worked fine for 2 1/2 days after I installed. I guess I need to remove the DVD/CD players and re-seat the RAM again to see what happens.

  5. #5
    Member Digerati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    894
    Points
    264

    Default

    It does sound like something came loose. Sometimes it takes a lot of effort to get the RAM in until the locking mechanisms "click" in place.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!
    MS MVP, 2007 - 2018
    ─────────────────────

  6. #6
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,189
    Points
    1308

    Default

    I guess I need to remove the DVD/CD players and re-seat the RAM again to see what happens.
    Let us know how that goes.

    Also,

    Considering the machine ran successfully for a few days,

    It may be or could be a possible Wattage issue (Power Supply), with the addition of the "New hardware" it's possible you exceeded the wattage rating on the supply.

    You are slightly underpowered

    dell optiplex gx280
    • small form-factor computer: 160 W
    • small desktop computer: 210 W
    • desktop computer: 280 W
    • small mini-tower computer with processor speeds of 3.2 GHz or lower: 250 W
    • small mini-tower computer with processor speeds of 3.4 GHz or higher: 305 W
    • mini-tower computer: 305 W


    I wonder if there is an inline fuse in any of the power supply connections that could have blown. What one do you have in the list above?

    Joe