Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    859
    Points
    1

    Default Dell Dimension 9150 What should I do with it?

    We had a power cut and since then my machine won't boot up. Sometimes it makes a 'motherboard' type noise and diagnostic lights 3 & c come on. The manual says 'A possible floppy drive or hard drive
    failure has occurred'

    Other times, it attemtst to load windows (xp) and I get a BSOD saying 'UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME '

    It sounds like a hard drive has failed to me, can somebody advise what to do please?

    I think the machine actually has 2 drives configured in a RAID type 0 (not sure I really need this)

  2. #2
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Determine the manufacturer of your hard drive, then go to their site and download their diagnostic program and run it.

    Your drive has likely failed.

    With a power failure it could be many parts that are fried

    If you have a copy of Windows try the other drive

    You, also can test the HDD on another computer if able...connect it an external case or adapter
    =======================================================================

    Maybe the boot sector is corrupted?

    http://pcsupport.about.com/od/fixthe.../repairmbr.htm

    1. When you reach the command prompt (detailed in Step 6 in the link above), type the following and then press Enter.

      fixmbr
    2. The fixmbr utility will write a master boot record to the HDD that you're currently using to boot into Windows XP. This will repair any corruption or damage that the master boot record may have.
    Last edited by abseh1; 11-18-2012 at 07:55 AM.
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    859
    Points
    1

    Default

    I don't have the windows CD. The drives are Seagate barracuda 160Gb units

  4. #4
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    859
    Points
    1

    Default

    OK, it looks like I need to download seatools. Can I do that to a usb drive or do I need to write it to a CD or DVD?

  6. #6
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Remember all computers do not boot from a USB media

    This is DOS and Windows OS info

    How To Create Bootable USB Disk For Seagate SeaTools For DOS
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    859
    Points
    1

    Default

    Before I do all this:

    When I boot the PC up, during the BIOS boot, it lists the physical discs and for port 0 it shows 'member disk (0) for port 2 it shows 'error occured'. Does that mean that it's not seeing the disc?

    As I have 2, couldn't I do away with the RAID config and just get it going on 1 disc?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    859
    Points
    1

    Default

    I have created the boot USB drive....my machine is now just sitting there saying 'FreeDOS'

  9. #9
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,189
    Points
    1308

    Default

    Hi Mickknipfler,

    First with a power cut like you had anything is possible... Are you still hearing noises at boot time?

    Can we <<<<<<back up<<<<< a second, Restart the computer and hold down the F8 Key, let me know the exact error you get after it attempts to boot, do it a few times, are you getting different errors each time?

    Also for reference on the USB exercise you're doing, a link below just in case you may have missed something.

    Documentation

    Joe

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    859
    Points
    1

    Default

    Holding F8 doesn't seem to do anything Joe

    I've taken both hard drives out of their cradles and they both seem to start up
    Last edited by MickKnipfler; 11-25-2012 at 10:56 AM.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast