Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member Steph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    961
    Points
    60

    Default Secunia and old FF version

    Secunia has "found" FF v. 1.x as End of Life and given it a high threat rating. I actually have v. 17.1 installed so don't know what it's talking about ... I ignored this for a couple of weeks thinking it was just a mistake and would be rectified but it's still there, showing as an actual installation.

    The file path is C:\WINDOWS\ERDNT\cache\firefox.exe

    I've found the folder but ... what do I do with it please? Is it ok to just delete the whole cache folder or just the contents (there's quite a lot of stuff in there) or will I end up deleting necessary files too?

    Thank you.
    Steph
    Today is the dawn of another error ...



    Intel Core i3-3240 @ 3.4GHz;
    RAM 8.0 GB;
    Windows 7 Home Prem SP1 64 bit
    Firefox; IE11

  2. #2
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I found this in the spybot forum....it is dated but they recommend deleting the path
    C:\Windows\ERDNT\cache\firefox.exe file

    more info
    savetubevideo redirect - Page 3 - Safer-Networking Forums
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to abseh1 For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Member Steph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    961
    Points
    60

    Default

    Thanks for that abseh.

    Where they recommend deleting C:\Windows\ERDNT\cache\firefox.exe file, when I look in the ERDNT cache folder, there's a FF icon and when I click Properties>Version tab, it says it's v. 1.9.2.3989.

    Sorry to be dense but I just want to check that this the icon I'm clicking on to delete? There's a whole load of other stuff in the cache folder and I don't want to delete the wrong thing and end up having to reinstall FF!

    (Assuming it is, any idea why this really old version is in the cache folder and the current version isn't?)

    Thank you
    Steph
    Today is the dawn of another error ...



    Intel Core i3-3240 @ 3.4GHz;
    RAM 8.0 GB;
    Windows 7 Home Prem SP1 64 bit
    Firefox; IE11

  5. #4
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Really nothing to add...I am not a FF fan anymore

    I do use it along with IE10 (Win 8), Chrome and my primary browser... Opera

    Sorry, best I can do...abs
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  6. #5
    Member Digerati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    894
    Points
    264

    Default

    The Windows\ERDNT folder is (was) created when you backed up your Registry with ERUNT. You can safely delete the entire ERDNT folder. It will be re-created next time you run ERUNT.

    any idea why this really old version is in the cache folder and the current version isn't?)
    When I ran ERUNT just now, it did not recreate the two cache folders. Further research showed they were created when ComboFix (which uses ERUNT) was run. But again, those folders are not needed by ANY of your programs. It is safe to delete the whole parent ERDNT folder. After that, PSI should be green and happy.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!
    MS MVP, 2007 - 2018
    ─────────────────────

  7. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Digerati For This Useful Post:


  8. #6
    Member Steph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    961
    Points
    60

    Default

    Thanks for the explanation Digerati, I deleted the folder as you suggested and all fine and dandy.

    I've never used ERUNT but I do have a vague recollection of Combofix being used in a spyware check some time back so maybe the folder was created then.

    Thanks again.

    Steph
    Today is the dawn of another error ...



    Intel Core i3-3240 @ 3.4GHz;
    RAM 8.0 GB;
    Windows 7 Home Prem SP1 64 bit
    Firefox; IE11

  9. #7
    Member Digerati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    894
    Points
    264

    Default

    Glad it worked. Thanks for the update.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!
    MS MVP, 2007 - 2018
    ─────────────────────