Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Diagnosing and cleaning a non-networkable computer

The title more or less covers it. I have a Toshiba Satellite laptop PC that's a few years old, running Win XP Home, that I use exclusively for my captioning work. The only things it encounters are another similar computer and my flash RAM stick. It's not the kind of thing I'm permitted to connect much of anywhere else, for reasons largely involving the confidential nature of my work. (I've connected it via hardline to the internet at large on one or two occasions to update when a new Service Pack came out, but that's it.)

Somehow, something seems to have gotten into this computer, because when I took my flash RAM stick to a computer that I can use the internet with, my antivirus said "Hey, there's a problem."

Without an internet connection or a CD-version purchase of some antivirus, I'm not completely sure how to go about diagnosing and treating this apparent infection. I'm a poor college student and nonprofit-organization worker, so I use MS Security Essentials and Spybot S&D, both of which rely pretty heavily on being connected to the internet for updates.

Any good solutions for this situation?
    "It's everywhere, in the headlines in the newspapers, in the blurry images on television. It is a secret you have yet to grasp, but the first syllable has been spoken in a dream you cannot quite recall." ---Unknown Armies

Blog Entries

Scan the stick on the Internet computer

Pull the non Internet HDD and slave it to the Internet computer and scan it for malware and replace it
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

Bit of a hard sell on a laptop drive. Something simpler, less invasive?