Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Pinetop, AZ
    Posts
    130
    Points
    0

    Default re-install of W7 taking FOREVER!!!

    Hi forum,

    It's been a while, but again I am stumped!!! I was trying a "Consumer Preview" of windows 8 for the past year. Bill Gates and his boys actually wanted me to BUY it, and I did not. All of a sudden, my computer would not boot the OS. Since a computer won't beat me, I re-installed the Windows 7 discs I got directly from the manufacturer of my desktop (HP Pavilion All-in-One). That worked okay ... but it has been continuing to give me a message indicating "one time set-up process" for the past two days whenever I re-boot!!! Is this normal or did my re-install not work out okay???

    I have been able to load my pick of antivirus software and another program that appears to keep my machines running well, but this "one time set-up process" thing is really annoying!!!

    Please advise, and thanks in advance, as always!!!

  2. #2
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I would try again....just me

    Do you have more than one HDD?

    If Sata HDD.... install Win 7 with the main HDD connected only (unplug in the case)

    Then connect the second HDD...if only one HDD ignore this step

    HP has this unique issue @ times

    Is is normal to take many hours for a computer to recover af... - HP Support Forum - 371709


    You could have a bad HDD....hard to say
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Pinetop, AZ
    Posts
    130
    Points
    0

    Default

    actually, abseh, yes - I picked up a second portable HDD and burned a full back-up of my original HDD onto it. (it includes all of the data from my windows 8 trial, but I don't know if that matters ...)

    thanks for your advice!!!

    Sean

    PS - the built in disc drive has a habit of scratching the HE** of of any disk inserted, so I also picked up a portable DVD drive ...

  4. #4
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    It matters @ install....because the path can become corrupted with two HDD's
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Pinetop, AZ
    Posts
    130
    Points
    0

    Default

    no kidding??? so should I disable the built-in drive DVD drive???

  6. #6
    Member abseh1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    2,319
    Points
    388
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    No that is not a Sata HDD....I have no more time ...I have to go to work

    May be someone else can communicate better than I ....good luck

    It can be fixed....you need to do a clean install and clean the boot issues

    The Win 8 preview and Win 8 actually work from your BIOS

    If you have a newer computer it could be a UEFI BIOS and needs to be setup correctly


    Best I can do...good luck....you seem to question and doubt the info...best I can do
    SIGNATURE...When I post info I assume you have already read this link
    How to Start Removing Viruses and Spyware from your Computer

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Pinetop, AZ
    Posts
    130
    Points
    0

    Default

    I attempted to re-install the original OS - Windows 7, but it still won't go. Then I discovered my HDD has shrank!!! Now, it only has 100 GB of space! I KNOW that the HP tech support threw in a 640 GB HDD when this thing was still under warranty ... so I think it's time to shop for another HDD. That should be easy enough, I have replaced a few HDD's on different machines before. Thanks for your help!!!