Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Dead HP Laptop

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0

    Default Dead HP Laptop

    Hello everyone,

    I've got a HP Pavilion G6 that no longer switches on. All I get is a single blink on the capslock button every 5 seconds or so and the fan starts whirring along. According to HP, this is a CPU problem. I've taken it apart and reseated the CPU but that doesn't help. Even though i know it's not the memory, I've reseated that several times. What I really need to know but can't find an answer for is this - Is it a dead CPU? It looks fine to me. There is a slight black mark on the copper pipe for the heat sink though. It's almost like a scorch mark but it could have been there forever as far as I know.

    Is there any way of testing the motherboard and the CPU without any specialised tools?

    Please note that I have searched many forums and help sites and I know that this is NOT a RAM issue as many people seem to think. HP themselves state it is a CPU problem.

    Cheers.

  2. #2
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,175
    Points
    1308

    Default

    Hi Roybut

    Welcome to Help2Go

    I would venture to guess that those other forums have also told you to take the battery out and try just the AC adapter alone and vice a versa too. From just looking at a CPU it's difficult to tell if it's bad unless it melted . I've seen those scorch marks too on working Laptops. The connections inside a CPU are thinner then a human hair and can get damaged easily from heat. I know no way of testing a motherboard and or CPU without specialized tools, besides replacing parts with known good ones. I would think it's time to take the Laptop in for service, seems Laptops go in for major service at least twice over the course of ownership.

    Joe
    Last edited by zep516; 01-28-2013 at 07:52 AM.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0

    Default

    Looks like I'll be taking it into a professional then. Thanks Joe

  4. #4
    Member Digerati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    892
    Points
    264

    Default

    I know no way of testing a motherboard and or CPU without specialized tools, besides replacing parts with known good ones.
    There really isn't any way to properly test a motherboard or CPU - without sending them back to the factory where there is specialized (Read: very expensive) test equipment.

    So that requires using a sacrificial CPU to see what happens. Most shops have a few laying around, but I know for me, I don't like to sacrifice them.

    Still, before replacing major components, it is essential to ensure you are supplying good power. A spinning fan is not conclusive. So I would try another PSU, assuming I had a compatible one to test with.

    I know that this is NOT a RAM
    How do you know? You can't tell by looking at it. And testing with programs like MemTest are good, but not conclusive either.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!
    MS MVP, 2007 - 2018
    ─────────────────────

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0

    Default

    I'll have to see about another power supply then.

    As for the RAM question, HP states that the error code is CPU. I've usually found that error codes are pretty close to the mark. That's not to say that they can't be wrong. Also, I've removed both sticks, tried them one at a time in both slots. Nothing. I'd be very surprised if both slots or both chips went at the same time.

    Thanks for the reply. I'll look into the power supply before getting it looked at professionally.
    Last edited by Roybut; 01-29-2013 at 03:33 PM. Reason: Typos

  6. #6
    Member Digerati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    892
    Points
    264

    Default

    Swapping in and out sticks of RAM is a good test - not conclusive because both sticks could be fried, but I agree that is not likely.

    Just remember the specs of the power supply for a notebook are important. Not only must the voltage be the same, but the plug style and polarity must be the same too. There is no standard.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!
    MS MVP, 2007 - 2018
    ─────────────────────

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Digerati For This Useful Post:


  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Digerati View Post
    Swapping in and out sticks of RAM is a good test - not conclusive because both sticks could be fried, but I agree that is not likely.

    Just remember the specs of the power supply for a notebook are important. Not only must the voltage be the same, but the plug style and polarity must be the same too. There is no standard.
    Would the power supply be the problem if it does the same thing on a battery? When just the battery is plugged in but no power supply then i get exactly the same thing

  9. #8
    Member Digerati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    892
    Points
    264

    Default

    When just the battery is plugged in but no power supply then i get exactly the same thing
    If it does the same thing on battery only (assuming a good battery) then that points to something in the notebook and not the power supply. Does your notebook allow you to run on power supply only - with the battery removed? Not all notebooks allow that, but if yours does, and the problem is still there, that would eliminate a bad battery as the cause.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!
    MS MVP, 2007 - 2018
    ─────────────────────

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Digerati For This Useful Post:


  11. #9
    Member Spyware Fighter
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Bement,Ill USA
    Posts
    1,340
    Points
    146

    Default

    HP states that the error code is CPU
    Do you know the error code. This might be helpful for others to know to give you some insight.
    " Extinguishing Malware from the world"

    The Spware Help forum is very busy. If I'm helping you and I've not posted back within 24 hrs., send a PM with your topic link. Thank you.
    HELP REQUESTS VIA THE PM SYSTEM WILL BE IGNORED. The Forums are there for a reason!
    Thanks-




  12. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Digerati View Post
    If it does the same thing on battery only (assuming a good battery) then that points to something in the notebook and not the power supply. Does your notebook allow you to run on power supply only - with the battery removed? Not all notebooks allow that, but if yours does, and the problem is still there, that would eliminate a bad battery as the cause.
    I can run the laptop on the cable without a battery in

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast