Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: No internet???

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Kent, England
    Posts
    120
    Points
    0

    Default No internet???

    Hi, please could you help? I've been asked to look at a laptop for a friend (poor souls)!!! They advised that they apparently can't get the internet. The laptop is a DELL Inspiron 1545 I've connected the laptop to my wireless network & it shows (on the icon, bottom right corner of the screen) that it has connected. But when I've tried to access the internet, sure enough, I get a message saying, "no internet connection", even though the laptop itself tells me everything is good. I then went off wireless, and plugged in an Ethernet cable, and once again the laptop registered as being connected to the internet via my router. When I went to open the internet home page, again I got the message, "no internet connection". So the wireless network, and the Ethernet cable both link up with the router, but I can't actually get up any internet home page. Could this be that the network adapter on the computer has failed? Any help please? Thank you for your time.

  2. #2
    Member Spyware Fighter zep516's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    7,173
    Points
    1307

    Default

    Hello Bcoharzis,

    The problem does not appear to be an adapter issue as both adapters wireless and Ethernet are not connecting to the internet.

    Try doing a system restore first and see if that helps you.

    If that does not help (System Restore) the next thing to try is to boot the computer to SafeMode with networking and only try connecting to www.google.com. Don't surf the internet in Safemode with networking because no Anti Virus or Firewall will be present, that's the reason we boot to this mode, it may help to determine if an Anti Virus program and or firewall is causing issue..

    Thanks
    Joe
    Last edited by zep516; 09-29-2014 at 08:10 PM.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to zep516 For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Kent, England
    Posts
    120
    Points
    0

    Default

    Thank you so much for your help, I will of course follow your instructions but can I also ask please, if (and when) I do a 'system restore', will any of the files or pictures or personal data be lost?

  5. #4
    Member Digerati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    892
    Points
    264

    Default

    System restore does not mess with user files.

    and once again the laptop registered as being connected to the internet via my router
    Do make sure the problem is accessing the "Internet" and not the "network". See if you can access your router's admin menu or "see" other networked computers. If you can, then there is nothing wrong with the notebook's hardware and my guess would be a firewall or anti-malware "setting" blocking it.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!
    MS MVP, 2007 - 2018
    ─────────────────────

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Digerati For This Useful Post:


  7. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Kent, England
    Posts
    120
    Points
    0

    Default

    Hi Digerati - thank you for your help so far. following your suggestions, I've disabled the windows firewall on the laptop & reattempted to access the internet but without success. As far as I can see there's no antivirus, only the firewall, but nonetheless, having disabled the firewall I still can't get on the internet so now I will try 'system restore'. I'll keep you updated. Thank you again for your support so far.

  8. #6
    Member Digerati's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    892
    Points
    264

    Default

    You need to re-enable the firewall immediately.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!
    MS MVP, 2007 - 2018
    ─────────────────────

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Digerati For This Useful Post:


  10. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Kent, England
    Posts
    120
    Points
    0

    Default

    Hi 'Digerati'.....sorry for taking so long to reply. I've been busy these past few days laying flooring!! I re-enabled the firewall as per your instructions, I also initiated a 'system restore' as suggested. Internet connection is still unavailable (no home page), though the laptop continues to indicate full connection with my wireless network. I've had a further error message that advises, 'connection isn't possible due to a 'Norton' error, the error code is '8504 104'???? Any further suggestions, help, or advice please? Thanks again for your patience & time.

  11. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    1
    Points
    1

    Default

    if norton error appears , it means you have to upgrade your antivirus software...
    largest online casino
    Last edited by alicecubadgee; 10-06-2014 at 12:41 AM.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to alicecubadgee For This Useful Post:


  13. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Kent, England
    Posts
    120
    Points
    0

    Default

    Hi Digerati......really, really sorry for taking so long to get back to you.....been working hard, ridiculous!! Problem with the laptop is solved. Norton was indeed causing problems, and network adapter had been disabled. Thank you for your help & support.