Thread: Updates

Default Updates

I get constant messages on my pc asking me to update my files. When I checked apparently there are over 40 to be updated, urgent and some not. I also get separate Skype message to update. I just ex out the messages because I was told by a friend "never update, except any Windows messages". I am a beginner. HELP please.

Hi cyn-trem,

Did your friend give you reason why not to allow Windows Updates to download and install? There are pros and cons to Windows Updates, but most important you must keep your system up to date with the latest security patches to prevent infection and there are some really nasty ones in the wild that could turn your computer into a very expensive doorstop if not protected. Even if your Anti-virus is kept up to date with the latest definitions your system could become infected with malware.

We here at Help2Go would be more than happy to educate you in regards to computer security.

Before we go further, I would like for you to follow the instructions below. This program will generate a log report that provides the information I need to guide you further in your quest for knowledge.

Please download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool and save it to your desktop. <<< Very Important!

Note: You will need to run the version compatible with your system. If you are not sure which version (32 or 64-bit) applies to your system download both of them and try to run them. Only one of them will run on your system, that will be the right version.

• Make sure that FRST is on the desktop of the infected system
    • Right click and choose Run as administrator. When the tool opens click Yes to disclaimer.
    • Press Scan button.
    • It will produce a log called FRST.txt in the same directory the tool is run from.
    • Please copy and paste log back here.