Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    3
    Points
    0

    Default

    Please can anyone help me?
    I have downloaded a number of MP3's using Kazaalite. These I play using windows Media player, but periodically whilst playing, the request internet access box pops up. Under the file menu I make sure that the 'work offline' is ticked but it still occurs when I change to another track listed in 'my music' folder.

    Any ideas???? Ta in advance

  2. #2
    Member Help2Go Moderator whoozhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Wallaroo South Australia
    Posts
    8,567
    Points
    801

    Default

    Try downloading winamp and make it the default player for mp3's It is the best mp3 player around, is free and far less annoying. It can also be set to play other media and Audio CD's

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    3
    Points
    0

    Default

    Firstly, thanks whoozhe for the info.
    Windows Media player is turning out to be a pain in the rear(so to speak)now it now won't let me make my own playlist - error message #80004005 pops up - MS site no help either in deciphering what the error message means - damn bill gates!!! I can't even find it on the Windows XP disk to try and reinstall it, just incase any files have got corrupted or deleted! if you have any ideas regarding windows media player, it would be greatly appreciated, otherwise I'll take you advice and download WinAmp. Ta in advance :smile:

  4. #4
    Member Help2Go Moderator whoozhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Wallaroo South Australia
    Posts
    8,567
    Points
    801

    Default

    The rest of that message gives you a hint of the problem.
    As XP does not have any easy way of removing Media Player my suggest is do not use it for anything except playing online streams.
    Have a look at http://www.hitsquad.com/smm/
    and choose a better all round media player.

  5. #5
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wishing Bubble
    Please can anyone help me?
    I have downloaded a number of MP3's using Kazaalite. These I play using windows Media player, but periodically whilst playing, the request internet access box pops up. Under the file menu I make sure that the 'work offline' is ticked but it still occurs when I change to another track listed in 'my music' folder.

    Any ideas???? Ta in advance

  6. #6
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wishing Bubble
    Firstly, thanks whoozhe for the info.
    Windows Media player is turning out to be a pain in the rear(so to speak)now it now won't let me make my own playlist - error message #80004005 pops up - MS site no help either in deciphering what the error message means - damn bill gates!!! I can't even find it on the Windows XP disk to try and reinstall it, just incase any files have got corrupted or deleted! if you have any ideas regarding windows media player, it would be greatly appreciated, otherwise I'll take you advice and download WinAmp. Ta in advance :smile:

  7. #7
    Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wishing Bubble
    Firstly, thanks whoozhe for the info.
    Windows Media player is turning out to be a pain in the rear(so to speak)now it now won't let me make my own playlist - error message #80004005 pops up - MS site no help either in deciphering what the error message means - damn bill gates!!! I can't even find it on the Windows XP disk to try and reinstall it, just incase any files have got corrupted or deleted! if you have any ideas regarding windows media player, it would be greatly appreciated, otherwise I'll take you advice and download WinAmp. Ta in advance :smile:
    :)

  8. #8
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    Under Tools>Options>Privacy make sure nothing is checked. That's basically what I have done and have no problems. The only negative I have on WMP 9 (I am supposing you have XP and using WMP 9) is that it's not very good at writing cd's, but I use Nero for that. Hope this helps