Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member Bebeto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0

    Default When the modem starts to dial the machine restart

    Everything was right with the PC before I install a program (a dialer of my Access Provider) that simply doesn't allow me to connect to Internet.
    When the MODEM is called the machine reboots..

    When I start again, the modem is not installed...
    Then I installed the modem driver again and the problem still there!

    I run the Norton Antivirus and nothing was founded!
    Norton is updated with the newest list of viruses...

    I dont know what more I can do!

    Thank you in advance!

    PS.: Sorry about my english...

  2. #2
    Member Help2Go Moderator whoozhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Wallaroo South Australia
    Posts
    8,567
    Points
    801

    Default

    When you say dialer do you mean a SetUp disk provided by your ISP.
    If this is the case then there is a chance that their installation process does not recognize your modem or you have not installed all the nexeccary Dial Up Netwok files.
    Contact your ISP and ask them to take you through a step by step a manual set up process.
    Take control of your life. Leave others to control their own.

  3. #3
    Member Bebeto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0

    Default Thanks

    I don't think this is the case because I completely remove the program after the installation and then install the modem drivers again...

    And when I try to make a Dial Up normal connection, the error continues...

    And as I said, everything is fine before this installation of this program...

    Thank you!

  4. #4
    Member Help2Go Moderator whoozhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Wallaroo South Australia
    Posts
    8,567
    Points
    801

    Default

    "And as I said, everything is fine before this installation of this program"
    means the program is at fault.
    You say you removed the program "After it installed"
    This means the program has already made the changes that are casing the problem.
    You may need to remove all the Dial Up Network settings and reinstall them.
    This can be done via the Add/Remove part of the Control Panel under the Windows Components section
    Also Norton Anti Virus anti system can cause the most robust system to die.
    Take control of your life. Leave others to control their own.

  5. #5
    Member Bebeto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0

    Default The sequel...

    I try to remove the Dial Up items but it doesn't work...

    Then I found in
    System Properties / Advanced / StartUp and Recovery / System Failure

    I disable the option Automatically reboot.

    Then, before the system reboot when I try to use the modem,
    the error message appears...

    STOP: OXOOOOOO1E ...
    KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED
    Address BFB70AB1 base at BFB6B000 DataStamp 394e6ce9 smserial.sys

    Thank you in advance for any helps...

  6. #6
    Member galena1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Devon -UK
    Posts
    3,109
    Points
    429

    Default

    There is very little info about this but it points to driver issues. I have received, in the past, an installation cd from my ISP and the driver had been updated twice since the version they supplied me. It took several calls to Tech (Ha Ha Ha) Support before I spoke to someone that was actually aware of this. I was supplied with the latest driver and the problem was resolved immediately.Regards
    I know everything about nothing, nothing about everything and precious little about the bit in between.
    P4-3.0G - Seagate Barracuda 160 - Maxtor 120 - Antec Hard Drive Cooler - 1GRam - Radeon9800Pro - Sony Multi DriveDVDRW - Audigy2 6.1 - XPHome

  7. #7
    Member Help2Go Moderator whoozhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Wallaroo South Australia
    Posts
    8,567
    Points
    801

    Default

    This is the result of the Backdoor.NTHack virus

    You will need to edit the registry. Dtails can be found at:

    http://support.microsoft.com/default...NoWebContent=1
    Take control of your life. Leave others to control their own.

  8. #8
    Member Bebeto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0

    Default Thanks!

    Thank you whoozhe...
    My PC wasn't infected by Backdoor.NTHack, but I search on your link (Microsfot) for the KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED problems and I finally solve the problem.

    I just remove the modem driver in the safe mode way, and remove the modem board from that slot... Then I restart the computer and turn off.

    After that, I did the reinstall of the hardware and the system recognize my modem and all works fine!

    Thank you for all the support!