Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Code 10 error

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0

    Default Code 10 error

    Hi there.
    IĀ“ve had this pC for almost a year and never had any hardware problem until a couple days ago when I suffered an attack either from a hacker or a worm that rendered the system worthless.
    Anyway. I recovered and re-installed the OS and all the programs I had but now my soundcard refuses to work. I installed it and when the IĀ“m done installing the drivers I get a code 10 error and the the card is listed in the Harware tab with a black exclamation mark.
    I contacted the tech support but the answers given yielded no result.
    I ran the tests recomended in this page and they came out fine. No virus, no adware. Nothing!!!!! what could have wrong? I never had any problems with the card.
    I have a P4 at 2,4
    Epox MOBO with Intel Chipset and Award Bios
    2 HDDs one 120 for Data and one 80Gb for system and programs.
    running Windows XP Pro
    soundcard Terratec DMX 6 fire 24/96.
    Any help will be greatly appreciated as IĀ“m a PC musician and need my soundcard working as soon as possible.
    Thanks again;
    GERM

  2. #2
    Member RednceckTech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    31
    Points
    7

    Default

    Sounds like you need to go to the sound card makers support site and download and install the correct driver for your version of Windows.
    HP Pavillion 9900 Custom
    XP PRO SP 2
    1.4 AMD Athalon Thunderbird
    40 GIG 7200 RPM
    512 PC 2100 DDR
    Creative Sound Blaster PCI 128
    Radeon 7000 Series
    Toshiba Cable Modem
    Linksys 4 port router with wireless access point

  3. #3
    Member Help2Go Moderator whoozhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Wallaroo South Australia
    Posts
    8,567
    Points
    801

    Default

    The Code 10 error relates to the device (sound card) drivers not being found.
    As you have re-formatted chances are that Windows does not have the drivers for your card included.
    You will need to download them from the manufacturer's site.
    Once you have the drivers unzip them (if they are zipped) into a temporary folder.
    Remove and replace the card and bott up. Hopefully Windows will recognize New hardware so when prompted choose have disk and navigate to the tempory folder.
    Take control of your life. Leave others to control their own.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0

    Default I already did.

    Hi for the help, but I already tried re-installing the card with newer drivers and it didnĀ“t make any changes.
    I contacted the tech support and now they tell me it is a Windows issue. This is very frustrating.
    I was told to go to the registry and change a reg key tp accept the card, but IĀ“m not too savvy on PCs so I rather wait and use that as a last resort.
    IĀ“ll keep trying .

  5. #5
    Member Help2Go Moderator whoozhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Wallaroo South Australia
    Posts
    8,567
    Points
    801

    Default

    Changing the registry key is not as bad as it seems.
    Aslong as you create a Restore point you can alter registry keys and if they do not work restore the system back to prior the alteration.
    Click Start > All Programs Accesories > System Tools > System Restore.
    Create a new restore point and give is a recognizable name.
    Once done Click Start > Run and type Regedit.
    Follow the suggestions then close Regedit.
    Reboot.

    If it does not work repeat the System Restore but this time choose the restore point you created.
    The system will be back exactly the same as before.
    My view is this is NOT and Windows problem but one that the card manufacturer should fix.
    An operating system is not designed for applications. Apllications must be designed for the OS.
    I would demand a real fix or a full refund.
    There are far better cards on the market for musicians.
    Take control of your life. Leave others to control their own.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0

    Default

    Well; I did the registry thing. I was told it was a registry permission thing and went ahead as you told me about the recovery point.
    Did change the permission settings for the system at
    Hkey_local_machine / system / current control set / enum / PCI / permisions

    But I still get the same code 10 error. Now this is getting on my nerves!!!!!!
    I wrote another E-mail to the terratec support but had no answer yet.
    By the way. In your last reply you said that there are better soundcards for pro audio work. Could you recomend at least 2 so I can look into them and maybe decide on dropping the terratec altogether.
    I need it to have ASIO drivers so it can have very low latency with my FL studio Program.
    Thanks again;
    GERM

  7. #7
    Member Help2Go Moderator whoozhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Wallaroo South Australia
    Posts
    8,567
    Points
    801

    Default

    Go to http://kellysmusic.mb.ca/soundcards.asp
    There is a wizard approach to choosing the right sound card for the job there.

    Again the choice depends on the need.

    Have a look at the following
    http://www.tracertek.com/
    http://www.turtlebeach.com/site/
    Take control of your life. Leave others to control their own.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0

    Default

    Well things are prety much the same and Terratec has showed no signs of life on the matter.
    I will like to thank you once again for trying though and it seems I will be buying a new soundcard soon. But NOT a TERRATEC!!!! thatĀ“s foe sure!.
    Thanks again and Take care.