Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    tigeress357
    Guest

    Default Major Memory Problems:(

    I'm having problems with an older computer that I have recently purchased. I'm running win 98se with 320 mb ram. My problem is that whenever I go online I run out of memory and receive a "System is Dangerously Low On Memory" error. I have an 8 gb hard drive that has nothing on it but the OS and cacheman 5.5. everything in the start up has been shut off except the antivirus and i did try without that but no change. I have increses the virtual memory but it uses all of that too. Once I get online the firat page loads , after the page is done the usage is at 68% but keeps going untill there is nothing left. I have done Msconfig and even updated to IE 6. and changed the ram chips. Any other ideas ????

  2. #2
    Member Spyware Fighter Grim322's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Glendale, Arizona
    Posts
    3,026
    Points
    718

    Default

    I would suggest going to this post and following directions.
    http://www.help2go.com/postt8026.html
    Since this computer is new to you, you have no idea what is on it. There is very likely a virus or worm that is eating up your memory. the above post should get you on the right track. After running all of the programs, post a Hijack log (generated in above steps). Our expert, Steam, can then clean up anything remaining. Charlie

    Onr more thing, how much memory does your computer show that you have? 320 is plenty for 98.

  3. #3
    Member Help2Go Moderator whoozhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wallaroo South Australia
    Posts
    8,567
    Points
    801

    Default

    My guess is the memory is not installed correctly.
    Click Start > Programs, Accessories then choose the A:/ Prompt. In the window tyoe "mem" (without quotes)
    This will report back what meory your system is reading.
    Take control of your life. Leave others to control their own.

  4. #4
    Member Spyware Fighter Grim322's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Glendale, Arizona
    Posts
    3,026
    Points
    718

    Default

    To follow up what Whooze said. If you have 320mb of RAM, it is probably a 64mb and a 256mb. The 64 was the original memory, and it is working OK. This allows the computer to boot, but not much more. The added 256mb may not be the correct type of memory, or it may not be installed properly. Make sure it is aligned correctly and snapped down in place and that both retainers are locked in their upright position. I would still do the Hijack log as you never know what is on a used computer. Charlie

  5. #5
    Member tigeress357's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0

    Default

    First : I need to get these computers into the same room
    Second : results of mem

    Modules using memory below 1 MB:

    Name Total Conventional Upper Memory
    -------- ---------------- ---------------- ----------------
    MSDOS 18,256 (18K) 18,256 (18K) 0 (0K)
    HIMEM 1,120 (1K) 1,120 (1K) 0 (0K)
    DBLBUFF 2,976 (3K) 2,976 (3K) 0 (0K)
    IFSHLP 2,864 (3K) 2,864 (3K) 0 (0K)
    WIN 3,616 (4K) 3,616 (4K) 0 (0K)
    vmm32 3,984 (4K) 3,984 (4K) 0 (0K)
    Free 622,384 (608K) 622,384 (608K) 0 (0K)

    Memory Summary:

    Type of Memory Total Used Free
    ---------------- ----------- ----------- -----------
    Conventional 655,360 32,976 622,384
    Upper 0 0 0
    Reserved 0 0 0
    Extended (XMS) 67,107,840 ? 334,249,984
    ---------------- ----------- ----------- -----------
    Total memory 67,763,200 ? 334,872,368

    Total under 1 MB 655,360 32,976 622,384

    Total Expanded (EMS) 67,108,864 (64M)
    Free Expanded (EMS) 16,777,216 (16M)
    Largest executable program size 622,368 (608K)
    Largest free upper memory block 0 (0K)
    MS-DOS is resident in the high memory area.


    I don't know what that all means but under system properties it reads 320mb ram. (1-64 and 2-128 chips pc100)

    Adaware found a few cookies but nothing else
    Antivirus found nothing
    hijack this will not run due to missing MSVBVM60.DLL file that will not transfer from a floppy ( tried twice)
    Can't download critical update , Computer freezes after the first page.
    Any ideas on how to get hijack to work or suggestions on how to give a computer FLYING LESSONS

  6. #6
    Member tigeress357's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0

    Default

    I forgot to mention that this is a former office computer. It had win 2000 in it and the hard drive has been reformatted and I loaded win ME. Had the same memory problem so I reformatted again and loaded 98. In comparing that computer to the one I'm using now, Everything is set the same ( System setting etc..) And I only run 128 mb ram and have never had a problem. I have thought about reformatting and starting over AGAIN but I don't know if it would do any good. or would loading ME in it again maybe i could at least get hijack to run?!?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    842
    Points
    152

    Default

    HI
    I wonder, is the RAM Installed in the correct slots. you say you have 2 128 RAM and 1 64 Ram.

    The 2 [128 sticks of RAM] should be in slot 1 and 2 and the 64 stick of RAM in slot 3. if you do go in to alter them make sure you touch the outer metal case to discharge any static first, or , or you can buy special wrist straps for this purpose BUT make sure that you at least discharge static first as above . but as your PC is reading 320 RAM this may not be the problem
    see here for missing dll MSVBVM60.DLL http://www.foelock.co.uk/foelock/games/msvb6.htm

    OR here http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/dl...shtml?msvbvm60


    some ifo about RAM http://www.auldfart.co.uk/howto/moreram1.htm


    Regards stoney

  8. #8
    Member Help2Go Moderator whoozhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wallaroo South Australia
    Posts
    8,567
    Points
    801

    Default

    Download and install Fresh Diagnosis from www.freshdevices.com.
    Uisng this free utility you can find out what is inside your system including memory. It should tell you if all the memory is working.
    Fresh Devices software does not contain any spyware or adware.
    Take control of your life. Leave others to control their own.

  9. #9
    Member tigeress357's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0

    Default Hijack Log

    Thanks for the links. Here is the hijack log.




    Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.2
    Scan saved at 7:16:46 PM, on 9/14/04
    Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGSERV9.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\AVGCC32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SBNET\SHOWBEHIND.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\CACHEMAN\CACHEMAN.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://www.searchgateway.net/search/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://www.searchgateway.net/search/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://www.searchgateway.net/search/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://www.searchgateway.net/search/%s
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG_CC] C:\PROGRAM FILES\GRISOFT\AVG6\avgcc32.exe /startup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Avgserv9.exe] C:\PROGRA~1\GRISOFT\AVG6\Avgserv9.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Cacheman] C:\PROGRA~1\CACHEMAN\Cacheman.exe

  10. #10
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    This can't be your whole log. Remember to highlight everything and then paste.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast