Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Member stratsmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    45
    Points
    0

    Default computer goes on standby but its not selected

    My work computer goes on standby all by itself?? Under power I have selected "never" for everything, and I've even turned the screensaver back on to try to fool it in to being busy but after about 10 min it just shuts off?? The only thing I've "added" recently was a kodak picture disc.

  2. #2
    Member galena1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Devon -UK
    Posts
    3,109
    Points
    429

    Default

    Try uninstalling and reinstalling your Kodak programme. See if your standby problem is solved before reinstalling it. Regards.
    I know everything about nothing, nothing about everything and precious little about the bit in between.
    P4-3.0G - Seagate Barracuda 160 - Maxtor 120 - Antec Hard Drive Cooler - 1GRam - Radeon9800Pro - Sony Multi DriveDVDRW - Audigy2 6.1 - XPHome

  3. #3
    Member Help2Go Moderator whoozhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wallaroo South Australia
    Posts
    8,567
    Points
    801

    Default

    Go to:
    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=185949
    Microsodt udated Win98 Power Management tool
    Take control of your life. Leave others to control their own.

  4. #4
    Member stratsmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    45
    Points
    0

    Default still standing by???

    I removed Kodak as per the wiz and I used PMTSHOOT but it still goes on stand by even though I have "never" selected. Also I must hit the on button to get it back on...moving the mouse doesn't effect it??
    I'm trying to post a hijackthis file but when I save it printshop deluxe opens and tells me the log is not valid for printshop deluxe. If I right click on it I don't get the option to "open with" only open and winzip??

  5. #5
    Member Help2Go Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA USA
    Posts
    2,994
    Points
    931

    Default

    Make sure in your computers BIOS that you have APM installed/configured correctly.

    Partieā„¢

  6. #6
    Member stratsmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    45
    Points
    0

    Default can't access BIOS

    Actually was trying that but my lovely computer won't let me get into its BIOS

  7. #7
    Member Spyware Fighter Grim322's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Glendale, Arizona
    Posts
    3,026
    Points
    718

    Default

    For a Compaq computer, try tapping F1 during boot up to get into BIOS. Compaq doesn't bother telling you that, they want their computers to be a mystery that only they can fix. Charlie

  8. #8
    Member stratsmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    45
    Points
    0

    Default keyboard error

    All info thus far has been great but none of it worked yet?? Now when trying the f1 trick I either get a keyboard error which locks the machine up or it starts up normally as if I wasn't even there...which is where I'd like to be..."not even here?"?!!

  9. #9
    WPL
    WPL is offline
    Member WPL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Old Saybrook, Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    78
    Points
    5

    Default

    i thought the delete key is usually the link to the setup for compaqs....try holding that down when turning on your computer



    chris

  10. #10
    Member stratsmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Pa
    Posts
    45
    Points
    0

    Default nope not delete either

    I get the beeping when I hold it down and I get 0 301 keyboard error if I tap it.? Also I tried each "f" key and nothing worked??!!
    Here is my latest hijackthis log if it helps...
    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 2:18:14 PM, on 9/15/04
    Platform: Windows 98 Gold (Win9x 4.10.1998)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\ENCOMPASS\MONITOR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SA3DSRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\C21X4D.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\MY DOCUMENTS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://search.presario.net/scripts/r...earchbar&i=enu
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://search.presario.net/scripts/r...s=search&i=enu
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.iwon.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://search.presario.net/scripts/r...s=search&i=enu
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://search.presario.net/scripts/r...s=search&i=enu
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://search.presario.net/scripts/r...query=%s&i=enu
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = localhost
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {000020DD-C72E-4113-AF77-DD56626C6C42} - (no file)
    O2 - BHO: IE Agent - {00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000221} - C:\PROGRA~1\LYCOS\IEAGENT\CSIE.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: (no name) - {014DA6C9-189F-421a-88CD-07CFE51CFF10} - (no file)
    O3 - Toolbar: i&Won Co-Pilot - {CA0B9B71-C2AF-11D3-B376-0800460222F0} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\IWON\IWONBAR\1.BIN\IWONBAR.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TaskMonitor] c:\windows\taskmon.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Essdc] essdc.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AtiCwd32] Aticwd32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AtiKey] Atitask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CPQSTUTFIX] C:\Windows\stutfix.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Compaq Internet Setup] C:\Compaq\Internet\InetWizard.exe /RUN
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Watch Dog Program] C:\COMPAQ\INTERNET\WATCHDOG.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Aureal A3D Interactive Audio Init] A3dInit.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [POINTER] point32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RAM Idle] C:\Program Files\RAM Idle\RAMIdle.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [C21X4D] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\C21X4D.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [HC Reminder] hc.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [EncMonitor] C:\Program Files\Encompass\Monitor.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Aureal A3D Interactive Audio] sa3dsrv.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: MSN Messenger Service (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: PartyPoker.com (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: PartyPoker.com (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: WeatherBug (HKCU)
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/s...sh/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {C4847596-972C-11D0-9567-00A0C9273C2A} (Crystal Report Smart Viewer 7) - http://172.16.3.22/viewer/activeXVie...ivexviewer.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.co...887.1917592593
    O16 - DPF: {70522FA2-4656-11D5-B0E9-0050DAC24E8F} (iWon Progressive Counter) - http://cc.iwon.com/ct/pm3/iwonpm_11_1,0,2,5.cab
    O16 - DPF: {33564D57-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71} - http://download.microsoft.com/downlo...22/wmv9VCM.CAB
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\VxD\MSTCP: NameServer = 216.91.110.5

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast