Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Member sluppy54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0

    Default Power surge on Hub port

    I have an Hp computer with windows xp. A message comes up from the taskbar telling me that there was a power surge on the hub port,I click on to reset it and everything seems fine until the computer still idle for awhile then it apears again .I don't know what could be causing it. :?:

  2. #2
    Member Help2Go Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA USA
    Posts
    2,994
    Points
    931

  3. #3
    Member Help2Go Moderator whoozhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wallaroo South Australia
    Posts
    8,567
    Points
    801

    Default

    Yep Reckon my SP2 CD will end up a coaster.
    Take control of your life. Leave others to control their own.

  4. #4
    Member sluppy54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0

    Default power surge on hub port

    Thank You

  5. #5
    Member Help2Go Moderator whoozhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wallaroo South Australia
    Posts
    8,567
    Points
    801

    Default

    I would suggest you contact your motherboard manufacturer to see if thaey have any upgrades or patches to counter what SP2 has done.
    Just a quick search brought up simialr problems with those who have installed SP2.
    Most MOBO's have intergrated hub power surge protectors.
    Take control of your life. Leave others to control their own.

  6. #6
    Member sluppy54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0

    Default power surge on hub port

    I'll sure try that one .
    Thank You

  7. #7
    cageeey
    Guest

    Default Power surge on hub port

    I have had the "power surge on hub" message come up over and over again on my HP Pavilion. I was able to find that it was associated with the printer port. I deleted the printer port LP1 and restarted the machine. The reload of the printer port driver semms to have fixed the problem.

    Good luck

  8. #8
    waldens1
    Guest

    Default Power Surge on USB Hub

    You are actually going to blame SP2? Give me a break. The only thing SP2 is doing is reporting the problem that has existed all along. The problem is that your device is pulling greater than 500 milliamps and your USB hub does not support that very well. This happens with devices like Hard drives ect. To work around this, simple connect a USB HUB to your computer that uses an external power supply. Look at the following MS KB article for more info:




    http://support.microsoft.com/default...t=windowsxpsp2

  9. #9
    Member sluppy54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    7
    Points
    0

    Default power surge on hub port

    Isn't my printer powered by an external power supply already :?:

  10. #10
    McGimli
    Guest

    Default

    Funny though, I've had this happen with both an external hard drive and a scanner..... both of which happen to have AC adapters (hooked up and sending power) and both of which worked fine back in the day.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast