Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29
  1. #11
    Member steamwiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire U.K.
    Posts
    14,022
    Points
    2335

    Default

    Hi

    Try this to bring up Add\remove ...paste into "run"

    rundll32.exe shell32.dll,Control_RunDLL Appwiz.cpl,@0,1

    I'm running out of ideas... I think your avatar is very apt at the moment...

    steam
    Look here for Ways to keep your computer safe
    M'SOFT MVP -Windows Security 2004/8 .member ASAP -

  2. #12
    Member Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wiltshire. UK
    Posts
    90
    Points
    0

    Default

    My avatar is VERY apt right now :-)
    Just tried it, still the same result, that stupid box asking what I want to open it with :cry:

  3. #13
    Member steamwiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire U.K.
    Posts
    14,022
    Points
    2335

    Default

    Hi

    Grasping at straws now... Where did you get the rundll32.exe file from ?

    Is it the right version ?

    win98 is 24kb

    XP is 31kb

    The one you put in was definately rundll32.exe and not rundll.exe wasn't it.

    Sorry if this is stating the obvious, but I don't like anything to beat me and this has.

    Maybe if I sleep on it something will come to mind...

    Can you run any exe files ?

    steam
    Look here for Ways to keep your computer safe
    M'SOFT MVP -Windows Security 2004/8 .member ASAP -

  4. #14
    Member Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wiltshire. UK
    Posts
    90
    Points
    0

    Default

    Hi again Steam.
    I got the new copy of rundll32.exe from my laptop which also runs XP Home. It is definately rundll32.exe and is 31kb
    I cant access any exe files of any sort at all, I've just tried again but there is nothing that will run.
    I have tried to find a way to access System Restore but cant, what happens there is as follows:
    I get to System Restore and select an earlier time, the computer goes through the system restore motions then shuts down, upon restart it comes back up and, Hey Presto! there's the box on the desktop asking me what I want to run it with, as soon as I get rid of that all my icons etc appear on my desktop and I'm back to square one again.
    I know exactly what you mean about being beaten, a bit that way myself, after all its only a box of wires and junk metal (well thats how I feel at the moment )

  5. #15
    Member Help2Go Moderator whoozhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Wallaroo South Australia
    Posts
    8,567
    Points
    801

    Default

    Have you tried the following?
    Click Start > Run type sfc /scannow
    This will sacn for currupt or missing system files and prompt for the XP CD.
    Take control of your life. Leave others to control their own.

  6. #16
    Member steamwiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire U.K.
    Posts
    14,022
    Points
    2335

    Default

    Hi

    This might be a case of your file associations being screwed up.....

    Try this reg file to reassociate exe files...

    http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/regs_edits/exefix.reg

    Just download it to your desktop (or anywhere else) doubleclick it and say yes to merge with the registry.

    steam
    Look here for Ways to keep your computer safe
    M'SOFT MVP -Windows Security 2004/8 .member ASAP -

  7. #17
    Member Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wiltshire. UK
    Posts
    90
    Points
    0

    Default

    Sorry Whooze, just the same result, that dreaded box asking what do I want to open it with.

  8. #18
    Member Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wiltshire. UK
    Posts
    90
    Points
    0

    Default

    Success.
    Thankyou Steam, it worked.
    On first inspection all seems ok. Do you reckon I should do a System Restore back to before this happened?
    You deserve a knighthood and I'm going to recommend it
    Thanks once again!.
    Jack.

  9. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    12,000
    Points
    1191

    Default

    NO on the system restore

    What you need to do is to "Set a Restore Point" for TODAY. Name it something like "System Cleaned 28Sep04"

    If you do a system restore, chances are some of your problems will reappear.

    Cheers

  10. #20
    Member Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Wiltshire. UK
    Posts
    90
    Points
    0

    Default

    Already done that Basement, dont you worry (todays restore point that is) :wink:

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast