rylo022000

Default I am in need of major help please

Hello all. I have a compaq presario 1247 notebook pc. The other day it was working great, except for the cd-rom. So I tried to hook it up, cause it said it was not working. I hit fdisk and did something not really sure all that was done in there. I then tried quick restore. That didn't work, it went to restore, and stopped. Now when I turn the computer on, it loads the compaq name then shows a message saying. <Missing Operating System> So I can get into the BIOS area, but that does me no good, cause I know nothing about BIOS. I am really lost here, I need my computer to work like yesterday. Please someone help me. It also shows that my BIOS shadowed, and the video BIOS is shadowed as well. I am sure if they can be unshadowed I might be able to restore everything. However I am new to this computer deal. So I am still a bit lost. Thanks for hearing me and my problem, any and all help, wil be great. I am running windows 98 second edition if this helps any.

The fdisk command is the command to erase the harddrive. I'm afraid that everything that was on your hard drive is gone, including the operating system. If anything was absolutely irreplacible, it might be possible to recovery it, but it won't be cheap. Someone else may have suggestions. Charlie

rylo022000

Thank you Charlie, do you think there is any other way to completely, dump the system. So I can start fresh. Ronald.

rylo022000

I was able to upgrade my memory in my system, so shouldn't I be able to delete everything then reinstall DOS and then everything else that I need to get back up and running. Ronald.

You will need an original operating system installation disc, the registration code for the same and a fully functioning CD ROM drive.
    From your earlier post I gather you at least don't have the last requirement.
    If / when you have everything necessary to install an operating system, click on this link for instructions on how to proceed.