Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Guest

    Default Annoying problems with color and graphics...Please Help!!

    Greetings one and all,

    The colors and graphics on my pc are broken, grainy and chunky. I went to desktop, hit right click on my mouse and went to properties. From there I went to settings only to discover that my reslolution function is inaccessible, so I'm not able to move that little lever that goes from 640 to 480 pixels. Is there something missing that I should know about?? PLEASE HELP ME!!

    I have a Pentium P5-120 and my Windows version is 95. Unfortunately AOL 7.0 is ISP.

    Thanx Guys,
    Damon.

  2. #2
    Member Velocity's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    35
    Points
    4

    Default Hey

    Hi,

    1. The model of your monitor is not set correctly in Windows.
    Enables your monitor to use the maximum resolution and refresh rate.

    1. Right click on an empty portion of the desktop.
    2. Click Properties.
    3. Click the Settings tab.
    4. Click Advanced Properties.
    5. Click the Monitor tab.
    6. Click Change.
    7. Click Show all devices.
    8. Click your Manufacturer.
    9. Click your Model.
    If your monitor is not listed in the manufacturer/model window you need to:
    a) Download drivers or the monitor .INF file
    b) Uncompress the file if necessary.
    c) Right click the INF file.
    d) Click Install
    10. Click Ok.
    11. When changing Monitor types it is sometimes required to restart your PC if this is neccessary then do so.
    Compaq,Windows XP,Internet Explorer,version 6.0.29, 128-bit,Outlook Express,version 6.00.29.

  3. #3
    Member Spyware Fighter Grim322's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Glendale, Arizona
    Posts
    3,026
    Points
    718

    Default

    You probably need to update or re-install your graphics driver. Support for 95 is getting tough to find. Do you know what graphics card or adapter you have? Charlie

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    126
    Points
    18

    Default

    To find out the make / model of your graphics card without opening up your computer, download and run Belarc advisor. It's a free utility, get it here : http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html

  5. #5
    Guest

    Default

    Hello Guys,

    Sorry for the delay in response.

    Okay, I tried Velocity's suggestion and it didn't work. I also downloaded the Belarc Advisor and it had absolutely nothing in terms of any graphic cards. Does this mean that it's missing and I have to have it installed??

    Thanx again guys....w/out the advice you've provided already, I wouldn't have gotten this far. Now, I'm hoping I can be directed to finding an installing a graphics card.

    Thanx Guys,
    Damon.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    842
    Points
    152

    Default

    Hi when you ran the belarc advisor [did you look on th Right-hand side it says DISPLAY and under that it will say [Display adapter] run it again and have a look if you see it under that let us know what it says
    you could copy and paste just that bit to note-pad below is what it will look like, this is mine below


    NVIDIA RIVA TNT2/TNT2 Pro [Display adapter]
    Default Monitor

    Regards Stoney

  7. #7
    Guest

    Default

    Greetings Stoney,

    Sorry for the timespan in responding. I recently lost my job and I am now in the middle of searching for another. So between updating my resume and going through my different networks is what occuppied most of my time for the past week and a half.

    Anyway, I did what you said to do to check for my display adapter. Here's what it said.

    Cirrus Logic PCI [Display adapter]
    Gateway Vivitron 15 [Monitor]


    Okay, so what do I do from here?

    Thanx a million,
    Damon.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    842
    Points
    152

    Default

    Hi does it have a Number as-well, you could try below

    http://www.driverguide.com/

    Regards Stoney

  9. #9
    Guest

    Default

    Hi Stoney,

    does it have a Number as-well, you could try below

    http://www.driverguide.com/
    No, there was no number there on the line that you've pointed out to me. Also, I went to that website (driverguide.com) and got pretty lost. I don't know what it is that I should be looking for there.

    Thanx,
    Damon.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    842
    Points
    152

    Default

    Hi

    When you go to site see at the side [Driver list click on]
    you will see at the top an alphabetical list click on C
    and look for Cirrus Logic PCI [Display adapter]

    Not sure if they have what you need

    you could try this to see if you have a number long time since 95 but i think this works

    Try right click on desktop>box pops up>go-to properties>then settings
    then>click on Advanced>at the top [TAB] do you see Adaptor click on it
    does it have a number or just, Cirrus Logic PCI [Display adapter]


    Or go-to start>programs>Accessories>systemtools>then system information
    click on Box components>then on display any number there or just
    Cirrus Logic PCI [Display adapter]



    ALso take a look how to update drivers
    http://www.cyberwalker.net/faqs/how-...ivers-faq.html

    Regards Stoney

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast