Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member Trotta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3
    Points
    0

    Default WINWORD.EXE - No disk

    when I first boot my computer I get this message:
    CiceroUIWndFrame:WINWORD.EXE - No Disk

    There is no disk in the drive. Please insert a disk into drive \Device\Harddisk1\DR16

    I don't know what this is about or what to do to stop it.

    Can anyone help?

    I am running XP Home

  2. #2
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    WINWORD.EXE is the main executable for Microsoft Word. Go here and read the Microsoft article http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=330137 . Hope this helps, get back and let us know how it went or if you need further assistance.


  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    126
    Points
    18

    Default

    If Canuck's suggestion doesn't help, run the Microsoft Office Suite set up, choose Add or Remove Features > Next > Advanced > Expand Office Shared Features. Deselect Alternative User Input and click Update.
    If Alternative User Input isn't selected then uninstall / reinstall Office.

  4. #4
    Member Trotta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3
    Points
    0

    Default

    Hi Canuck & Rad24

    Can't seem to make either option work.

    I haven't got a removable disk assigned as 'c', so that doesn't seem right. Also the end of themessage is \DR16 not \DR1

    I haven't got Office installed. Just microsoft Works which has Word 2002

    Eddie

  5. #5
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    Do you have an MSI DR16 DVD read/writer? If so, suggest you can download the latest firmware here http://www.msi.com.tw/program/suppor...il.php?UID=609 .

    Keep us posted.


  6. #6
    Member Trotta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3
    Points
    0

    Default

    I have 2 drives:
    PIONNEER DVDRW DVR-107D
    SONY DVD-ROM DDU 1612

    Does that help?

    Eddie

  7. #7
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    I suggest you go through our spyware/virus test. Follow all instructions here http://www.help2go.com/article217.html . Go through 1 to 5, when your in #5 after you've created a log with Highjackthis, copy and paste to this thread. One of our experts will take a look and also see what's been done to date. Please do not try and fix anything in the HJT log. I'll notify or transfer your post to the Spyware Help forum after you've posted.