Default Before I wipe out c:...

Hello! Hope you're all having a wonderful afternoon. I'm back with another challenge...and hoping I will, once again, be rescued from my own stupidity.

Here's what I've got:
    Over the past couple of months I've noticed that my computer has really began to pull the reins and slow down. It's not so terribly horrible that I stare at the clock yet, but I want to try to prevent it before it gets there.

I'm a web/graphic designer, so I'm a download junky. Give me a new program and I'll try it...some I buy, some I don't. As you know, things begin to build up and before you know it... you're up chocolate creek without a creme stick.

I have RAM on the way as we speak because I'm only running 200 something (which is bad for what I do, I know)...but...I am leaning toward cleaning out c: and starting fresh.

Here is my biggest problem:
    I have no patience. I purchase most of my development software online and download the full versions (instead of waiting on the postal service to bring me a CD)... I am also very careless... I never remember to burn the original zip file to a cd before I get rid of it...
    So...all I really have....is..what's in my Program Files.

How exactly would I go about creating a backup for each program? Is it possible that all I would need to do is burn that software's folder in Program Files, to a CD? or is it more complex than this?
    An example of some of the software I'm using is: Paint Shop Pro, Adobe Photoshop, Macromedia MX 2004, WS FTP PRO, etc.

Can It be done? or....am I up chocolate creek?

I sincerely appreciate your time and effort!
    Thank you so much!