immal

Default editing apache installation

Goodday all,

As a newbie here, I guess this question might be redundant or I just couldn't know under which thread to post it up. To go straight to the point, I am gonna ask if anyone out there would be willing to give me basic steps as to how to edit my apache setups. I messed up the day I was installing the app. Where I was prompted to setup a domain and server name I put invalid names and web address, now I cannot have my localhost page showing just as a demo to see if the server is responding to the request. I'd wish to put my IP address as a rectification, but I don't know where to go to do that.

This is my first experience in web development as I am getting into this quite interesting and exciting jurney. I am running Win XP pro SP2, on 2.4 GHz processor and 512 RAM. The apache version I am running is 2.0.47 and PHP 5.0.3. I will later be installing MySQL 4.1.

The issue here is that I've installed APACHE and PHP moreso, I don't wish to uninstall APACHE as this may temper with some already installed settings, unless I am told otherwise.

Please your help will be so much appreciated. :roll:

Member Help2Go Moderator

There should be a shortcut in start menu/programs/apache2 labeled "edit apache config" or "edit httpconf" if not, go into your apache2 folder and look for the httpconf file and open it with notepad or another similar text editor. Make your changes and then save the file. After saving the file restart apache.

Partie™

Thanks PartieHonteuse

I do appreciate your input. That was helpful.

I have another one though. How will I go with service installation? when I finished installing Apache I got error messages (in console mode), basically prompting me that some services were not installed as the folder "apache2" wasn't installed yet that's not true. I have the folder installed. Is there anywhere that I went wrong??