Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    a111
    Guest

    Default Error loading OS

    When i try and start my system i get a meesage that says error loading OS. This happens everytime but i didn't make any changes to the system and i'm still able to load XP if i go to the boot menu and select the main HD manually. Any thoughts as to whats the problem?

  2. #2
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    Try doing an sfc / scannow fix .. see http://www.updatexp.com/scannow-sfc.html# (site thanks to BearNunya).


  3. #3
    a111
    Guest

    Default

    Tryed sfc it ran not sure if it did anything but no effect on the problem. The message comes after the loading DMI files line. Any other thoughts?

  4. #4
    Member Spyware Fighter Grim322's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Glendale, Arizona
    Posts
    3,026
    Points
    718

    Default

    Do you have the Microsoft XP installation Cd and unlock code( not a set of recovery disks). If you do, you can do a repair installation to reload the OS, but leave your data files alone. Directions here:
    http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm
    Charlie

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1
    Points
    0

    Default

    you could try running a diagnostic on your hard drive also.

  6. #6
    a11
    Guest

    Default

    Got it solved some how in the BIOS it was set to boot from my second drive. So set that the right way around and alls good now.

  7. #7
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    Glad you're up and running. Thanks for getting back to us, it sure helps our knowledge base for the future.


  8. #8
    Member Help2Go Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA USA
    Posts
    2,994
    Points
    931

    Default

    I see you ran the SFC. Please reinstall ALL windows hotfixes and service packs. Although they may show in your registry, they are not installed anymore especially if the SFC overwrote any Windows System Files (in which it does unless you specified a different paramater with the SFC command).

    Partieā„¢