Default appropriate decompressor?

Ok, if anyone's familiar with my question from page 2....I've got an update. I went to My Computer, clicked on Local Disk (C, Program Files, Windows Media Player, and mplayer2. I tried opening one of my problem movie files with the earlier version of media player. I'm prompted with "Unable to download an appropriate decompressor.(Error=80040200). I've tried solving this mylself but, I'm a novice at best. I could use any input at this point....thank you. Downloading Divx player did not help.

StoneO :?:

Hallo Stone0 - Have a look here, it might help. http://msmvps.com/chrisl/articles/10919.aspx
    Regards.
    I know everything about nothing, nothing about everything and precious little about the bit in between.
    P4-3.0G - Seagate Barracuda 160 - Maxtor 120 - Antec Hard Drive Cooler - 1GRam - Radeon9800Pro - Sony Multi DriveDVDRW - Audigy2 6.1 - XPHome

You might want to check out this article: http://msmvps.com/chrisl/articles/11303.aspx it suggests you download ffdshow. I am not familiar with this but I believe it is another media player and codec pack. There are also links to various codec packs in this article, maybe one of those will help.

There is also a Microsoft article with information about the error, you might want to read it but it basically says you have to get the appropriate codec from the manufacturer. http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;279242 This article does however tell you how to find out what that codec is so I suggest you take those steps and post the results here so we can help you find the codec.

What version of media player are you using as I belive there is more support for 10 now.

Default close..but no cigar