Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Member ComputerDitz2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    5
    Points
    0

    Default Locating Memory?

    Hello, i've been downloading a lot on my computer lately,and i'm trying to locate how much memory I have left on my computer,so that I can buy more if needed. Can anyone tell me what I need to click on to find out how much memory I have left?

  2. #2
    Member Help2Go Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA USA
    Posts
    2,994
    Points
    931

    Default

    If you're talking about how much hard drive space you have left open "My Computer" and highlight (single left-click) the C:\ (or any other) Drive listed. Once highlighted look to the left of the window, it'll tell you how big the drive is, how much is used, and how much is free.

    If you're talking about RAM then right click on "My Computer" and select "properties". Once that window opens itll tell you how much system RAM you have installed.

    Partieā„¢

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Worcestershire. England.
    Posts
    1,443
    Points
    74

    Default

    ComputerDitz2
    Read this by whoohze
    http://www.help2go.com/public/article125.html

    Download this-it will then tell you all about your PCs programs

    http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
    8) cheers Jim.
    (I thought this might help it does not improve on what PartieHonteuse said to you- which I also found helpful and learnt something from it )

  4. #4
    Member Bear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,839
    Points
    372

    Default

    You could use the Crucial System Scanner to determine your memory needs. Link below


    http://www.crucial.com/systemscanner/
    Comptia A+ and Network + Certified. Microsoft MCP in Windows 2000 Pro. Server, Advanced Server and Data Center Sever.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    12,000
    Points
    1191

    Default

    I think the "average user" with XP can get by 512 RAM just fine. While XP can get "by" with a lot less, 512 seems to be the recommended amount.

    If you are into games/graphics/video editing consider buying more.

    Cheers

  6. #6
    Member Sevuas_0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    90
    Points
    1

    Default

    well if u are into gamimg i advise to have at least 724RAM
    Spyware Can be a pain for those who are stressful and some just know how to look around it!

    AMD Athlon 2000+, 512MB PC2100, 28.6HD, SP1 Windows Xp Pro.

    ASUS 128MB ATI 9200SE/T AGP 4X enabled

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    12,000
    Points
    1191

    Default

    How do you come up with 724 of RAM? Do they now have stick of 212 RAM to add to 512 - ?

    BG

  8. #8
    Member Sevuas_0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    90
    Points
    1

    Default

    oop's sry basementgeek i knew i was alittle off on that number!
    Spyware Can be a pain for those who are stressful and some just know how to look around it!

    AMD Athlon 2000+, 512MB PC2100, 28.6HD, SP1 Windows Xp Pro.

    ASUS 128MB ATI 9200SE/T AGP 4X enabled

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    12,000
    Points
    1191

    Default

    If you knew you were off a little why did you post that number ?

    If you want a job working on PC -"opp's sry" just is not going to get it.
    Yes I was 18, four decades ago - but you are beginning to become a fountain of misinformation.

    BG

  10. #10
    Member Help2Go Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA USA
    Posts
    2,994
    Points
    931

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Basementgeek
    but you are beginning to become a fountain of misinformation.

    BG
    Amen.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast