Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: KERNAL32 Error

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    161
    Points
    4

    Default KERNAL32 Error

    Whenever I try to install some programs lile Stardock's LogonStuido, I get the following error right after double-clicking the setup .exe. The error will not go away until I end the process. P.S. - This isnt only with LogonStudio, but occurs with quite a few installers.

    Image of error:
    http://img37.echo.cx/my.php?image=error8py.png

    Help!
    Thanks in Advance 8)
    Still using IE?
    Get Firefox!

    My Homepage

  2. #2
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    There doesn't appear too much info on this problem. What I did discover is that SMapLS could possibly be a remnant of win 9* or ME. If you upgraded to XP (not a clean install) it is quite possible that old files remain. The only solution I found was to do a complete fresh install of XP.

    Stay tuned as others may have more input.


  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    161
    Points
    4

    Default

    Well, the computer came with XP installed. Will stay tuned. Also, P.S. - This program is made for XP/2000.
    Still using IE?
    Get Firefox!

    My Homepage

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    161
    Points
    4

    Default

    Need Help badly now. I cannot install Firefox 1.04 :cry:. Harldy any application's installers will run . Any Kernal32 experts out there :?:.

    Help.....



    This is one of the reasons I've pretty much given up on windows.

    EDIT: I once had a problem with autoexec.nt. The origional was in C:/windows/repair and all I had to do was copy it to the system folder. Unfortuneatny, Kernal32.dll is not there . And also, I cannot copy it off of a XP CD, the computer came with XP installed.
    Still using IE?
    Get Firefox!

    My Homepage

  5. #5
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    Create a restore point and then go to Start>Run>type chkdsk /f (note space between k and /)>OK. You will probably have to reboot and let it do it's thing. It should correct any windows files that are damaged. Keep us posted.


  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    12,000
    Points
    1191

    Default

    What happened to your Firefox. You said that you did not use IE

    Also it is Kernel, not Kernal

    BG

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    161
    Points
    4

    Default

    I dont use IE. I just tryed to update it to 1.04 (It just now said updates available).

    Also, BasementGeek. I found the same exact version DLL over at DLLDump. Will this work if I boot it DOS off of a CD and copy it? (It wont let me overwrite it in windows)

    And always, back it up first. I have a special folder, C:\BACKUP for this purpose.
    Still using IE?
    Get Firefox!

    My Homepage

  8. #8
    Member Spyware Fighter Grim322's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Glendale, Arizona
    Posts
    3,026
    Points
    718

    Default

    You said XP came installed, do you have an XP installation cd or just a set of restore disks? If you have the XP installation CD and unlock code, you can do a repair installation. You will need to reinstall all Windows updates. Instructions here:
    http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm

    Charlie

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    161
    Points
    4

    Default

    Thanks for all of your help . Canuck, It worked 8). Chkdsk fixed the issue. Thanks

    Now I have my own custom logon screens. :wink:
    Still using IE?
    Get Firefox!

    My Homepage

  10. #10
    Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    9,817
    Points
    2034

    Default

    I'm glad it worked for you


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast