Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Member dupokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    SLC, Utah
    Posts
    37
    Points
    0

    Default My Computer Keeps Freezing!

    My computer at home freezes every now and then, and it's starting to drive me nuts. I have cleaned up my computer pretty good, and defraged the hard drive. No viruses, no spyware, hijack logs turn out clean, but sometimes when I will be doing something, it just locks up. I have to turn it off. Help!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    546
    Points
    69

    Default

    Have a look at your system properties to make sure XP can see all the RAM you have installed. How is the Ram installed? 956MB is rather an odd amount.
    Also does this problem happen when you are using the same program?
    Regards guy9663.

  3. #3
    Member steamwiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire U.K.
    Posts
    14,022
    Points
    2335

    Default

    Hi

    From what you say, you've covered most of the bases... one other possibility is heat ... you have a big CPU there, probably pretty new, so dust and dirt wont be the issue, but are you getting plenty of air circulating ?

    When you say it "freezes every now and then" ... how often is that ?

    can you take the side off and run it, maybe get an extra fan blowing at it, see if that helps...

    steam
    Look here for Ways to keep your computer safe
    M'SOFT MVP -Windows Security 2004/8 .member ASAP -

  4. #4
    Member dupokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    SLC, Utah
    Posts
    37
    Points
    0

    Default

    I was wondering about the RAM. I have 2 512's in there. I wondered why it wasn't more. Is there a way to fix that? I have an external hard drive that sits on top, and it is in a cabinet. I will take of the side panel and see how it works. And move the other hard drive somewhere else.

    It is freezing almost everyday, but to no specific program. I could exit out of everything, get up and come back in 15 minutes and it is frozen.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    546
    Points
    69

    Default

    I suggest you try the following.
    As you are taking off a panel remove one memory stick, startup and check to see what memory you have. Shut down, swap memory sticks over and then check again. Make sure when you use a single memory stick, it is installed in the slot nearest the CPU. Sounds like a RAM stick or memory slot may be faulty.
    Regards guy9663.

    PS This link will give you a temperature readout for your hard drive.
    http://www.download.com.ph/HDD-Thermometer.htm

  6. #6
    Member steamwiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire U.K.
    Posts
    14,022
    Points
    2335

    Default

    Hi

    Are you seeing the 956MG RAM in system information ?

    If so, take one of the 512 RAM sticks out (it should run OK on one stick) and see if the one you have left in is reading the full 512...

    Then swap them over and see what the other reads..

    If one of them is not reading the full 512, you have a bad stick of RAM, and that will cause freezing.

    steam
    Look here for Ways to keep your computer safe
    M'SOFT MVP -Windows Security 2004/8 .member ASAP -

  7. #7
    Member steamwiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Yorkshire U.K.
    Posts
    14,022
    Points
    2335

    Default

    Hi Guy

    SNAP
    Look here for Ways to keep your computer safe
    M'SOFT MVP -Windows Security 2004/8 .member ASAP -

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    546
    Points
    69

    Default

    Hello Steam. :lol:
    Isn't that just the most annoying thing!
    I was going to repost about heat but someone else got there first.
    Regards Guy. :wink:

    Edit. I forgot to add this
    dupokey, you might want to look at this freeware if you know what you are doing. Regards guy9663.

    http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php

  9. #9
    Member Bear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    1,839
    Points
    372

    Default

    You know what they say, great minds think alike. I was about to post about the ram as well & possible heat problems but I type too slow. LOL
    Comptia A+ and Network + Certified. Microsoft MCP in Windows 2000 Pro. Server, Advanced Server and Data Center Sever.

  10. #10
    Member dupokey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    SLC, Utah
    Posts
    37
    Points
    0

    Default

    Thanks. I will try it tonight, and let you know tomorrow. I think it might be the RAM as well because I don't think it was quite 512 mb before I added the additional 512.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast