Default Apache Help Please (urgent)

Hi everyone. I just set up my own Apache server. I used my IP as a domain and everything. Now, I'm pretty newbish at this considering I have never done it before. i was just wondering how come I can acess my apache server, and view the files but if I send them to a friend (which is what I'm trying to do) they get an error?

I sort of need an urgent answer if at all possible. Thanks so much.

ps- I read a million websites trying to figgure out how to install and use my apache and it seems like this is the only one I came across who talked to me in words I could understand :-P hahaha thanks so much again.

-Max

Member Help2Go Moderator

Ok, so what's the error(s) your friend is getting? Also, are you at work trying to set this up or at home?

The reason why you're able to access it is because you're the server. No matter if you use the 127.0.0.1 address or your public IP address it's all the same on your computer. Now, we just need to find out why nobody else is able to view your server.

Please, open notepad and then open the file...

C:\program files\apache group\apache2\httpd.conf (or something near to that path) and copy/paste it's contents to your next post. Also, when pasting your httpd.conf file PLEASE REPLACE YOUR REAL IP ADDRESS WITH A FAKE ONE for security reasons. ALSO, if you wouldn't mind, please send me your REAL ip address in a private message so I'm able to test the connection and to see what errors are going on...that is of course if you don't mind doing so.

Partie™

I sent you my stuff in a PM.

I'm very familiar with coding, and fixing up things but if you could help me out I would love it. Thanks again.

-Max

Member Help2Go Moderator