Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HELP!!

Default HELP!!

Let me begin by saying I have run the housecall virus scan and the Adaware and they both report no problem. I ran another advertised free virus scan and it found cookies and other threatening sounding things but to continue I had to purchase the software, which I wasn't prepared to do at the time. I cannot even remember what it was, it was not one of the more well known ones. Here's my problem: First let me say I am no techie and will probably use the wrong terminology.

Out of the blue, my computer crashed. This was the first time that had happened and the computer is a 2 1/2 - 3 year old Dell Dimension
    I started it again and it has only "crashed" completely 1 more time, but runs so slow it is about unusuable. The typing is delayed in any document I am working on. I've cleared out many files but even that action is a slow process. Can you help me?

Administrator Help2Go Administrator Canuck's Avatar

Hi smerelda,

Have you been doing basic maintenance on your PC? Disk Cleanup and Defragmenting? Also in Internet Explorer go to Tools>Internet Options>click the Delete cookies and Clear History buttons. After you've done these basic four steps, you should see some speed improvement. Ideally, one of the best investments you could make would be to add another 256 of RAM memory.

If your're worried about malware, I suggest you continue by going here . Follow all steps 1 to 5. When you get to 5 you will be creating a Highjackthis log. Copy the log and return to this post, click Post Reply at the bottom of the page and paste the log there. Make mention that you've followed through all the steps so that our experts will know what's been done.

Keep us posted.

Thanks so much for responding. I've never inquired of a service such as yours before. I'm going to the site you suggested and will post the log.
    Until then a few notes FYI
    1. I do try and keep up with routine maintenance