Default XP Corrupt Hive Blue Screen Massacre

Hi,

I'm not very good with computers and have found this problem diagnosed on other stes but Im afraid I need kids terms to be able to get my head around it. When I try to start up my computer there is a screen saying something about a corrupt hive and system32/config/software which is corrupt and it is beginning a dump of physical memory.

I cant even get it to start in safe mode. I read that you need to do something with your windows xp setup cd but my problem is that Im studying abroad and I dont have it with me. Is there any way I could download it or fix my problem without using it?

I am concerned my files may be at risk but as am poor student cant afford someone to fix it

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thank you

Can you give us the exact error message ?

BG

It only flashes up very briefly before restarting again - but from what I can gather it says

STOP C0000218 (Registry File Failure)
    The registry cannot load the hive file
    /systemroot/system32/config/software
    or its log or alternate

It is corrupt, absent or

Beginning dump of physical memory

What brand of computer and do you know if you had an actual Windows XP installation CD or just a sytem restore disk (or disks) from the manufactuer?
    When you hit f8 for safe mode does the option screen come up? If it does try "Last known good configuration" Charlie

Its toshiba ea60-191. I cant remember if I had a cd or not - I do remember that it was already installed on my computer when I bought it. I have tried last known good configuration but the same still happens.

This is a link to repair procedure.
    http://xphelpandsupport.mvps.org/how...air_a_stop.htm