Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member earshot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0

    Default Trend Micro scan is stuck or looping

    Having all kinds of problems with my PC. Have Windows XP and for the last few days have been unable to launch IE and have had extreme slow down in response time. Also, the scanner on my printer is disabled - I uninstalled then reinstalled the printer software from it's CD but the scan portion of the machine does not install.

    I followed your instructions for spyware and launched the scans....the trend micro scan completed 20minutes ago - the left hand side says 'preparing' and the cursor blinks rapidly with an hourglass. The bottom left of the screen flashes 'done' '[3 itmes remaining] downloading picture' and [2 items remaing] downloading picture'

    If I hit the RESULTS tab, 3 items are listed:

    TRAK_SE.781
    ADW_SE.66505
    HTTP cookies

    The Status side of the screen is as follows
    Step 1 lists black
    Step 2 lists white
    Step 3 lists grey

    I don't know what other info you may need, I do know that I am so frustrated I am ready to throw this PC out the window!

  2. #2
    Member Spyware Fighter Grim322's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Glendale, Arizona
    Posts
    3,026
    Points
    718

    Default

    Try scrolling down to the bottom of the screen to see if you get the option to "REMOVE" or "COMPLETE" Charlie

  3. #3
    Member earshot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0

    Default

    there is nothing there

  4. #4
    Member Spyware Fighter Grim322's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Glendale, Arizona
    Posts
    3,026
    Points
    718

    Default

    The scan can take over an hour to run, are you sure it is done? You can try running the Java based version instead of the ActiveX one. You will be given the option at the beginning if you have Java enabled. Charlie

  5. #5
    Member earshot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0

    Default

    It says 'preparing', doesn't that indicate the scan is complete and it is preparing the report of what it found?

  6. #6
    Member galena1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Devon -UK
    Posts
    3,109
    Points
    429

    Default

    It is possible that it is 'preparing' to scan. How long have you waited when you see 'preparing'? It can take 15minutes. Regards.
    I know everything about nothing, nothing about everything and precious little about the bit in between.
    P4-3.0G - Seagate Barracuda 160 - Maxtor 120 - Antec Hard Drive Cooler - 1GRam - Radeon9800Pro - Sony Multi DriveDVDRW - Audigy2 6.1 - XPHome

  7. #7
    Member earshot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    4
    Points
    0

    Default

    I fired off the scan again....

    This is what it says in the lower left hand corner above the gas bar..

    19:07 Preaparing to scan
    19:08 Scanning
    19:10 Preparing

    The same files are listed as before under the 'results' tab..

    it is now 19:44 and it still says 'preparing' with the same info as listed above flashing in the lower left hand corner.....