Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6
    Points
    0

    Default Computer freezes????

    Is there something I can do that will prevent my computer from freezing?

    Have to keep restarting....

  2. #2
    Member galena1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Devon -UK
    Posts
    3,109
    Points
    429

    Default

    Hi Win - Need some system details. Make/Model? Processor? How much Ram? Size of Hard Drive? Other drives?
    When does this happen, is it always when you are performing the same task? Any error messages?
    You can download and run the free program at the link below, it will give you all this information and much more. Regards.

    http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
    I know everything about nothing, nothing about everything and precious little about the bit in between.
    P4-3.0G - Seagate Barracuda 160 - Maxtor 120 - Antec Hard Drive Cooler - 1GRam - Radeon9800Pro - Sony Multi DriveDVDRW - Audigy2 6.1 - XPHome

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6
    Points
    0

    Default Computer freezing........

    I downloaded the site you recommended. I am on Windows 2000 Processor....1000 mega hertz.... There is so much information on these pages which I fully don't understand and don't know what to do.

  4. #4
    Member galena1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Devon -UK
    Posts
    3,109
    Points
    429

    Default

    Hi Win - If you have a printer it can be useful to print off the Belarc report but it's not essential. Just copy the details requested below. Each bit of information will be preceded by the 'Heading' in the report.

    1. Operating System?
    2. System Model - Make/Model?
    3. Processor?
    4. Memory Modules - How many Megabytes of installed Ram?
    5. Drives - How many Gigabytes of Usable Hard Drive space?
    How many Gigabytes of Free space?
    Also listed under 'Drives' heading will be any CD and/or DVD players and Floopy Disc drives. Which of these do you have?

    When does the system freeze? What are you doing when it happens?
    Are you getting any error message?

    Regards.
    I know everything about nothing, nothing about everything and precious little about the bit in between.
    P4-3.0G - Seagate Barracuda 160 - Maxtor 120 - Antec Hard Drive Cooler - 1GRam - Radeon9800Pro - Sony Multi DriveDVDRW - Audigy2 6.1 - XPHome

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6
    Points
    0

    Default Computer Freezes

    It freezes at random. Yes, I have a printer. Do you want all that information?

  6. #6
    Member galena1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Devon -UK
    Posts
    3,109
    Points
    429

    Default

    Just the 5 in the list above will do for now
    I know everything about nothing, nothing about everything and precious little about the bit in between.
    P4-3.0G - Seagate Barracuda 160 - Maxtor 120 - Antec Hard Drive Cooler - 1GRam - Radeon9800Pro - Sony Multi DriveDVDRW - Audigy2 6.1 - XPHome

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6
    Points
    0

    Default Computer freezes

    1. Windows 2000 Professional Service Pack 4

    2. No details available

    3. 1000 megahertz AMD Athlon
    128 kilobyte primary memory cache
    256 kilobyte secondary memory cache

    4. 384 Megabytes Installed Memory
    Slot DIMM1 has 128MD
    Slot DIMM2 is empty
    Slot DIMM3 has 128MD

    5. 30.01 Gigabytes Usuable Hard Drive Capacity
    25.10 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space
    Creative CD 5233E (CD-ROM drive)
    3.5 format removeable media (Floppy drive)
    WDC WD300BB-00AUAI (Hard Drive)
    (30,02 GB)--drive O, s/n WD-WMA6W1080309, rev 18.20D18, Smart Status Healthy

  8. #8
    Member galena1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Devon -UK
    Posts
    3,109
    Points
    429

    Default

    Hi - Still need some info about when this happens. Is it competely random? Does it happen with one particular program you are using?
    Are you getting any error mesages? Regards.
    I know everything about nothing, nothing about everything and precious little about the bit in between.
    P4-3.0G - Seagate Barracuda 160 - Maxtor 120 - Antec Hard Drive Cooler - 1GRam - Radeon9800Pro - Sony Multi DriveDVDRW - Audigy2 6.1 - XPHome

  9. #9
    Member Help2Go Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA USA
    Posts
    2,994
    Points
    931

    Default

    4. 384 Megabytes Installed Memory
    Slot DIMM1 has 128MD
    Slot DIMM2 is empty
    Slot DIMM3 has 128MD

    Are you sure that's correct? 128+128 = 256 not 384...

    Partieā„¢

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    6
    Points
    0

    Default Computer freezes..........

    Quote Originally Posted by galena1
    Hi - Still need some info about when this happens. Is it competely random? Does it happen with one particular program you are using?
    Are you getting any error mesages? Regards.
    It is completely at random. I do not get any error messages.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast